Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I have tried a lot of hummus recipes and this one is simple and wonderful! No need to keep trying hummus recipes, this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I've made this a couple of times and haven't rated it so, it's time. I'd never made hummus before, but I've had it many times. I like this recipe and have made it with dried garbanzo beans (using the soaking method) and also using canned beans. I did cook the canned beans this time with a bit of baking soda for approx. 20 min., rinsed and the hulls were removed. I made my own tahini, used roasted garlic (extra, added cumin and used fresh lemon juice. This was nice for the Super Bowl party this year...I served with raw carrots, celery and pita chips. Liked by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I played with the amounts abit, And added some water to give a smoother texture, But this came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Great Hummus !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Great basic hummus recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I modified this slightly but loved it. I used 2 cans of garbanzos and 2TB of tahini and everything else was about the same. I used a little more lemon juice and some of the reserved bean water to thin the hummus out. The longer it rests, the better it tasted. By the 3rd day it was amazing. I put everything in my Vitamix which is a must have for something like this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
So, so, so, SO GOOD!! Took the tips from other reviews and used 2 tbsp tahini, the juice of 1/2 a lemon, doubled+ the garlic, 1/4 tsp cumin and incorporated bean juice. Rather than "2 cups" of canned beans, I just used a single 15 oz can of no salt added chickpeas drained and then re-incorporated as much of the drained juice as needed. I also used my own tahini using a cup of organic sesame seeds that I pan roasted and blended with 2-3 Tbsp each of oil olive & roasted sesame oil, so mine was super super toasty tasting. This recipe seems infinitely extensible. I'll definitely try batches made with some marinated artichokes thrown in or using smoked paprika. I'm super excited to start experimenting every other batch. Maybe every third ... It's really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I've been using allrecipes.com for many years. First review ever. I've been trying to mimic a smooth, tasty hummus for years comparable to our favorite mediterranean restaurant. So thrilled that I happened across this little baby and gave it a try. By luck, yes luck, I only had Cannellini beans. No Garbanzo. Used the Cannelini beans instead and WOW!!! My husband and kids can't get enough!!!! I have to make huge batches every week for my family. Way healthier than ranch for dipping. Seriously, try Cannelini. It gives the hummus that lovely smooth texture and it's so delicious!! If you love hummus this is the mother of all hummus recipes!! Made no other changes-was perfect except used a softer bean and that was because it was all I had. Did I mention easy? throw it all in a blender and you're done! We LOVE this hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I found this so easy. I used less tahini and liquid from the chick peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is delicious! I added more cloves of garlic, onion powder, red pepper flakes, olive oil and a few tbsp of water and it was perfect!! This is now a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States