Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
First time making hummus and it was oh-so-easy! Flavorful, great basic recipe. Agree with others that this is a great base but you will probably need to tweak to suit personal taste. I added in a bit more garlic, red pepper flakes and a sliver of smoked pimiento. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jheni77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
OMG!!! First hummus I've ever made and in fact taste. This was SOOOOOO GOOD!! I didn't use any oil at the end trying to cut some calories. My whole family couldn't stop eting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
easy. try different seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Make this regularly. Don't try it with dried garbanzos, though--texture becomes too rough. Using the canned liquid from only one of the cans actually helps. Like to add about 2T cumin to it, though. Also, instead of the expensive tahini from the store, we use about 1/4 cup of sesame seeds. Toast 'em if you like; makes for a nuttier flavour. Roasted red peppers also go well with this. We buzz it with a stick blender. All in all, a great recipe and customizable to your spice preference. Most Middle Eastern families tweak their own hummus recipes, anyway. But this is a great starter recipe to see what you personally like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I gave this 4 stars for a fantastic base recipe for hummus. It was a little bit bland for my taste. I like a little more tang. I added twice the amount of lemon juice and twice the amount of garlic (love garlic, too). I didn't bother with the olive oil, paprika, or parsley. It was fine without it, and was also lower in calories without the olive oil. The paprika and parsley would be a better presentation if making it for a party. A great healthy snack served with pita chips or bread, or fresh, crisp raw veggies. I have also made this with artichoke hearts and jalapeño chili. A great base recipe for trying various flavors. Thanks, RC2STEP for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
great! Add a little minced cilantro. Garnish with sprigs of cilantro and toasted pine nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanbone

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by LaLa785
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Fantastic! I ended up only using one can of chickpeas just because I didn't want to open a second can for only a 1/5 cup more and it still turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLa785

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
So yummy. We follow this recipe completely and add sun dried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Awesome - better than store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
THis is a delicious version of hummus! I did do a few things differently as per my family's tastes...roasted the garlic beforehand, and added a dash of red pepper flake...so stinkin good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States