Hummus I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
I like to throw in a little fresh, finely chopped garlic to add a bit of a kick, and to promote healthy arteries (raw garlic sucks excess fat out of the bloodstream!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
This is such a great hummus recipe! It could use a bit more garlic and lemon juice than suggested, but it's one of the best I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Very good hummus! I tried to make it in the blender thinking that would make it smoother. Not a good idea! The blender was not happy. But once I finally got the whole thing blended it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
The parsley is magic... I'm usually overwhelmed by the garlic in most humus recipes but with the parsley in this one, I enjoyed a lovely balance of richness and freshness... Encore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
I made this hummus for a kid's b-day party and everybody loved it!!! I made it using a hand chopper leaving it rather chunky and much more flavorful than other creamier recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it for a party and it went over very well. I did have to add a little water to thin it a bit. If I had read the comments about not using the blender, I would have saved myself some trouble. Use a mixer if you don't have a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
Very easy, very good. This is a great snack for children. I left the bowl of hummus on the counter for a few minutes, and my finicky 5 year old ate half the contents of the bowl before I realized it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This recipe is the BEST to date! I made a batch up, and we ate it for lunches for a week. Spread it on a toasted pita bread, dip tortilla chips or carrot sticks in it. Any way, it is just divine. It is packed with nutrition too! My two year old daughter LOVES it (and she's the pickiest eater I know). I love being able to add what I like to it. A little lemon juice and garlic makes it delicious! Great recipe, very easy, very kid-friendly. We give it two tummies up!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
This was very close to the hummus at my favorite restaurant. I did double the lemon juice and garlic, however. I think next time I may reduce the amount of tahini a little, just because it was a tad thick, and all the fat comes from the tahini anyway. But overall, it was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Great and simple! I agree with the advice to save some of the bean "juice" to help thin the hummus a bit. I also add a bit of olive oil, some tabasco sauce, about 1/4-1/2 tsp of cumin and crushed red peppers, and maybe a bit more lemon juice. This recipe is MUCH better after at least 24-48 hours of time to "meld" in the fridge. Be careful with the red peppers and the tobasco--it may not taste spicy enough right away, but after 24-48 hours, the spices will definitely be noticed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States