Hummus I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Hummus without olive oil or cumin? Nope, doesn't work. Add up to 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/2 tsp of cumin to this recipe, and I'll change my rating to 5 stars. Adding water to this recipe is not "optional" either. About 1/4 cup will be right. Don't add in the "reserved" bean juice. Drain and rinse those beans to get rid of the extra sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This is a very good recipe. I've substituted lime juice for the lemon juice--not as good. I've left out the tahini--not as good. I've served it the same day as making it--not as good. This is excellent & best served after 1-2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it for a party and it went over very well. I did have to add a little water to thin it a bit. If I had read the comments about not using the blender, I would have saved myself some trouble. Use a mixer if you don't have a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
I took this hummus to a potluck of primarily vegetarians who'd tasted hummus many times before...and they all gave it rave reviews! It adds some new excitement (and a little more color!) to the traditional hummus recipe, and the onion & parsley compliment it well. Also, I added 1 can of kidney beans instead of a 2nd can of garbanzo beans and was pleased with the result...plus that gave it little specs of red too to make it look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
The parsley is magic... I'm usually overwhelmed by the garlic in most humus recipes but with the parsley in this one, I enjoyed a lovely balance of richness and freshness... Encore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Great and simple! I agree with the advice to save some of the bean "juice" to help thin the hummus a bit. I also add a bit of olive oil, some tabasco sauce, about 1/4-1/2 tsp of cumin and crushed red peppers, and maybe a bit more lemon juice. This recipe is MUCH better after at least 24-48 hours of time to "meld" in the fridge. Be careful with the red peppers and the tobasco--it may not taste spicy enough right away, but after 24-48 hours, the spices will definitely be noticed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
This was very close to the hummus at my favorite restaurant. I did double the lemon juice and garlic, however. I think next time I may reduce the amount of tahini a little, just because it was a tad thick, and all the fat comes from the tahini anyway. But overall, it was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Very good hummus! I tried to make it in the blender thinking that would make it smoother. Not a good idea! The blender was not happy. But once I finally got the whole thing blended it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
While this recipie varied from my mother's traditional middle eastern version of Hummus, I found it to be very easy to scale down and make in a smaller batch. Also, the addition of parsley and green onion give the Hummus good depth of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States