Hummus Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Insomniac Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I halved the recipe and omitted the meat. I had to use sunflower seeds instead of pine nuts, but they still added a nice crunch and good flavor. This "casserole" (it's hard to call it that when it doesn't bake) went over quite well at a party, but I was pleased to discover that the leftovers were even tastier after a couple days in the fridge, and (for you this may be a positive or a negative) the pitas became quite soft after a day or two. Great snack! Definitely add plenty of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insomniac Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
We used lavash instead of pitas and ground turkey instead of ground beef. Still FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
i used ground turkey instead of beef and sunflower seeds instead of pine nuts because they were hard to find. still tasted great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Very good. I almost didn't do the layering with the pita, then I decided to go ahead and do it. I layered in a bowl, not a casserole dish, and added the ground meat. I had venison, not ground beef, so I used that instead. I did use the allspice--and if you are worried about it tasting weird, it doesnt. You can't really taste it at all. The whole thing is very good. I figured I'd like it--I've had something almost the same (it wasn't layered though) at a Lebanese restaurant and it was delicious--but it's nice to know I can make something very similar at home. We ate just this for our dinner; very filling. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I messed this one up a little. I was trying to make it from memory after reading it the other night. I thought the whole dish had to be heated because I remembered 9x13-lol. It was really good though and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This was good and VERY different...But it also makes ALOT of food. I think next time I'll just make half of the recipe. My husband and I liked it but didn't eat any of the leftovers...Probably because I couldn't figure out how to reheat it. Hubby also thought the beef needed more seasoning. Sure is tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I have a very picky child who has added this recipe to her "list" of foods she will eat! I used the Hummus III recipe to make this casserole. With this recipe, the only problem was that I didn't know what was meant by tear the pita into pieces. I halved the pitas with a knife then separated the pitas. I also added ground turkey browned with minced onion and greek seasoning. Perfect dish for a hot summer evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Another great recipe, very authentic, thanks. I like to put ground beef on top of mine, so I cooked it that way. Also, make sure to have chopped onions or green onions on hand to chomp on with every bite of the casserole. Also, have halved lemons ready, some people prefer to squirt lemon on their own plate. I love adding more lemon on mine. Thanks! Just like my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States