Hummus Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very unexpected. I didn't realize this was a room temperature casserole (didn't know they existed), but I did enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Really nice! It would be great for a salad/appetizer style party. I used about 1.75 lbs ground turkey and added a few garlic cloves to the onions. The allspice is great but definitely needs more - and that's after I added extra from the start! Pine nuts toast very nicely on the stove with no oil (they release their own natural oil). I made my own hummus and only used about 1.5 cups. Layered: hummus, pita, meat, pita, hummus, meat, pine nuts, parsley, paprika, lemon juice. Refrigerate leftovers and heat them up the next day - tastes just as good if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I truly like this recipe. I used the hummus III recipe to give a fresh flavor. This one is a keeper. The allspice while subtle is still important it adds a layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Wow, hummus casserole is exceptional. I wouldn't have guessed as casserole could be this refreshing. Most are so heavy. Nice, summer like flavors that meld well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This just sounded weird to me (and I'm pretty adventurous when it comes to food). It turned out to be REALLY GOOD and quick/easy!!! Will probably make this at least 3-4 times per month. I left out the pine nuts because I didn't have any. I will make sure I have them next time because it will make the dish even better!! I agree with the person who said the allspice isn't very noticeable - it was very subtle, but I think I would have been missing something in flavor if I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I didn't have pine nuts so it would have been better with those. I added 1 T of garlic and this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
My husband and I both love hummus, and while this tasted very good (I made it with the beef and am glad that I did), we both found that the flavor became monotonous well before we became full. If I make this again, I will make it with several contrasting dishes on the side . . . a tomato salad, perhaps, as well as a cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I used the Spicy Chipotle Hummus recipe on this site, I used the bottom of the bag Tortilla chips instead of Pita Bread, and I used Cilantro instead of Parsley. It gave this recipe a real Southwestern flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE FREITAG
Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was WONDERFUL! I made the hummus myself using the Basic Hummus recipe off of this site. FYI if you're making your own hummus, two cans of chickpeas worked beautifully for me--one can for the bottom layer and another for the middle. This was truly delicious, we will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Insomniac Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I halved the recipe and omitted the meat. I had to use sunflower seeds instead of pine nuts, but they still added a nice crunch and good flavor. This "casserole" (it's hard to call it that when it doesn't bake) went over quite well at a party, but I was pleased to discover that the leftovers were even tastier after a couple days in the fridge, and (for you this may be a positive or a negative) the pitas became quite soft after a day or two. Great snack! Definitely add plenty of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insomniac Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States