Hummus Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe. I followed the directions, except I added some garlic and cumin to the ground beef. I also toasted the pita breads into small chips or croutons. I served this with the Arab lentil and rice dish called "Mujadarrah", also from this website. Great combination! I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very unexpected. I didn't realize this was a room temperature casserole (didn't know they existed), but I did enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Really nice! It would be great for a salad/appetizer style party. I used about 1.75 lbs ground turkey and added a few garlic cloves to the onions. The allspice is great but definitely needs more - and that's after I added extra from the start! Pine nuts toast very nicely on the stove with no oil (they release their own natural oil). I made my own hummus and only used about 1.5 cups. Layered: hummus, pita, meat, pita, hummus, meat, pine nuts, parsley, paprika, lemon juice. Refrigerate leftovers and heat them up the next day - tastes just as good if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I truly like this recipe. I used the hummus III recipe to give a fresh flavor. This one is a keeper. The allspice while subtle is still important it adds a layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Wow, hummus casserole is exceptional. I wouldn't have guessed as casserole could be this refreshing. Most are so heavy. Nice, summer like flavors that meld well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This just sounded weird to me (and I'm pretty adventurous when it comes to food). It turned out to be REALLY GOOD and quick/easy!!! Will probably make this at least 3-4 times per month. I left out the pine nuts because I didn't have any. I will make sure I have them next time because it will make the dish even better!! I agree with the person who said the allspice isn't very noticeable - it was very subtle, but I think I would have been missing something in flavor if I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I didn't have pine nuts so it would have been better with those. I added 1 T of garlic and this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
My husband and I both love hummus, and while this tasted very good (I made it with the beef and am glad that I did), we both found that the flavor became monotonous well before we became full. If I make this again, I will make it with several contrasting dishes on the side . . . a tomato salad, perhaps, as well as a cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I used the Spicy Chipotle Hummus recipe on this site, I used the bottom of the bag Tortilla chips instead of Pita Bread, and I used Cilantro instead of Parsley. It gave this recipe a real Southwestern flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE FREITAG
Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was WONDERFUL! I made the hummus myself using the Basic Hummus recipe off of this site. FYI if you're making your own hummus, two cans of chickpeas worked beautifully for me--one can for the bottom layer and another for the middle. This was truly delicious, we will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States