Hummus Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This just sounded weird to me (and I'm pretty adventurous when it comes to food). It turned out to be REALLY GOOD and quick/easy!!! Will probably make this at least 3-4 times per month. I left out the pine nuts because I didn't have any. I will make sure I have them next time because it will make the dish even better!! I agree with the person who said the allspice isn't very noticeable - it was very subtle, but I think I would have been missing something in flavor if I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Another great recipe, very authentic, thanks. I like to put ground beef on top of mine, so I cooked it that way. Also, make sure to have chopped onions or green onions on hand to chomp on with every bite of the casserole. Also, have halved lemons ready, some people prefer to squirt lemon on their own plate. I love adding more lemon on mine. Thanks! Just like my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Wow, hummus casserole is exceptional. I wouldn't have guessed as casserole could be this refreshing. Most are so heavy. Nice, summer like flavors that meld well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Insomniac Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I halved the recipe and omitted the meat. I had to use sunflower seeds instead of pine nuts, but they still added a nice crunch and good flavor. This "casserole" (it's hard to call it that when it doesn't bake) went over quite well at a party, but I was pleased to discover that the leftovers were even tastier after a couple days in the fridge, and (for you this may be a positive or a negative) the pitas became quite soft after a day or two. Great snack! Definitely add plenty of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insomniac Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I have a very picky child who has added this recipe to her "list" of foods she will eat! I used the Hummus III recipe to make this casserole. With this recipe, the only problem was that I didn't know what was meant by tear the pita into pieces. I halved the pitas with a knife then separated the pitas. I also added ground turkey browned with minced onion and greek seasoning. Perfect dish for a hot summer evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I used the Spicy Chipotle Hummus recipe on this site, I used the bottom of the bag Tortilla chips instead of Pita Bread, and I used Cilantro instead of Parsley. It gave this recipe a real Southwestern flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE FREITAG
Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Very good. I almost didn't do the layering with the pita, then I decided to go ahead and do it. I layered in a bowl, not a casserole dish, and added the ground meat. I had venison, not ground beef, so I used that instead. I did use the allspice--and if you are worried about it tasting weird, it doesnt. You can't really taste it at all. The whole thing is very good. I figured I'd like it--I've had something almost the same (it wasn't layered though) at a Lebanese restaurant and it was delicious--but it's nice to know I can make something very similar at home. We ate just this for our dinner; very filling. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
We used lavash instead of pitas and ground turkey instead of ground beef. Still FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was WONDERFUL! I made the hummus myself using the Basic Hummus recipe off of this site. FYI if you're making your own hummus, two cans of chickpeas worked beautifully for me--one can for the bottom layer and another for the middle. This was truly delicious, we will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Surprisingly good,and I made the recipe with no changes. It's a perfect summer recipe to make when it's too hot to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States