Hummingbird Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I had this drink years ago when I was in Jamaica at the Grand Lido Braco. We drank these all week right up until the bus was there to take us to the airport(the bus was late so we were able to sneak in one more). For strawberry sauce I use grenadine syrup available at most grocery stores. Here's to Jamaica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I drank a lot of these in Negril in 2005 and never thought to search for the recipe… until now. It was blistering hot here today, so I ran out and got the ingredients (found rum cream easily and used Nesquik strawberry syrup) and on my first sip was quickly taken back to the beach, listening to reggae and always having someone nearby to remind me it was “no problem”. My husband agrees. I finally became a member to tell you how good this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This was awesome. Had no problem finding the rum cream liqueur. Just ask at any larger store. Can't wait to try them again, who needs to go to Jamaica if you can make these at home. WOW!!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was pretty good, except it's extremely difficult to find rum cream in the US. We get ours when we travel to Canada. (Sangster's is exported there) I haven't seen any in the midwest yet. This recipe did remind me of Negril though, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I went to Negril a year ago and I asked the bartender for something sweet but different. He made me this and a Purple Rain. I couldn't find anyone here in the States who knew what a hummingbird was and all I have to say is THANK YOU!!! Now I can make this wonderful drink at home!! The recipe is exact too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
FABULOUS! I used gold rum and half & half in place of the rum cream liqueor and milk. I added a little extra syrup and kahlua. It seems like a strange combination, but ohhhh.... they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Rum Cream has been very hard to find in the states, but Cruzan just started making their own version of Jamacian Rum Cream. It tastes just like the stuff we all remember from our honeymoons! WAHOOO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Very good! Had trouble locating cream liqueur, so used coconut rum. Assume when I find the cream liqueur it'll be 5 Stars! What about cream or Half & Half, or some such, instead of the milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
It was only last week that I was sipping one of these on a beach in Montego Bay. Definitely the real deal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLASTRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Exactly like the ones I had in Jamaica during my honeymoon. Ohhh the memories. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Cuba Libre Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender whip up this classic rum-based cocktail.

Best Strawberry Daiquiri

This frosty, fruity rum daiquiri boasts a bit of fizzy fun.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States