Hummingbird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Very delicious! Took it to work, big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
VERY moist cake, simple to make, tastes very good but the banana is the primary flavor, I was hoping the pineapple and coconut (I added) would be the focus and the banana would be a background flavor. I changed the recipe some but will tweak it again next time I make it to try to perfect my idea of what hummingbird cake should be. I keep uneaten bananas (I call them baking bananas) in my freezer, defrosted 3 of them which came out to about 1 cup of banana mash - would use 2 baking bananas next time. I did not drain my pineapple (8 oz crushed), next time I would use a 10 or 12 oz can as I was hoping it would stand out a little more. I added I cup of shredded coconut (will use a little more next time 1.5 cups maybe). I used 1 cup white sugar and 1 3/4 cups packed brown sugar and vegetable oil as I was out of applesauce but I would probably still use some/mostly oil because it makes it so moist. I also added a generous splash of vanilla and about 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I baked everything at 325 degrees in dark, non-stick Baking Pam'd pans: 2 mini bunt cakes (single serving/large cupcake size) for 32 minutes, 5 regular cupcakes for 26 minutes both are so moist I may not frost them and serve them to my boys for breakfast! I put the remainder of the cake in a 13x9 and baked it a total of 1 hour, it looks dark on top but still feels moist, I won't know if it's overdone until tomorrow. I would use this as a banana bread recipe, still trying to perfect my version, not a failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denece Frisbie
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!! I had to cut the oil 3/4 C. Oil, 3/4 C. Applesauce for Heath reasons. And I used the juice and all from the pineapple. SUPER MOIST. I also sprinkled cinnamon sugar "generously" on top of cake before baking. I made an orange flavored cream cheese frosting as a filler, and decorated with "Rick's special buttercream" cutting the sugar by 1 1/2 cups. The flavor combination is amazing. Thanks for the recipe!!! Oh, I baked in 9" round pans at 325* for about 50-55 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. I do cook it about 5-10 minutes longer, but thats my preference. The taste is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quin
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
it tastes amazing, however I did take the advice from someof the other rreviews. I added 1tsp of cinnamon 1tsp of allspice. I added a half cup of brown sugar and I used the juice from the can of crushed pineapples. i also used walnuts and pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Was going through a baking urge and chose this to make one night for dessert. I did make a few changes though, I didn't drain the pineapple, used pecans and I used a store bought cream cheese icing (didn't want to make a trip to the store and had the frosting already). I must say that the cake is good, not great. While, I love banana bread, I was expecting this would not be so similar to it. If I ever made this again I would probably tweek it even further by using LESS banana, probably a cup vs the two and I would probably haul my butt to the store to get the ingredients for the frosting because the store bought stuff has a bit of an artificial taste to it. If you LOVE banana bread then you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Followed the recipe except: I mashed the bananas in a food processor and added fresh pineapple to that and pureed it all together. I baked it in a full sheet cake pan and it only need about 45-50 minutes at 350. Great texture and flavor! Thanks for getting me outside the basic cake box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Is it a good cake? Yes, moist and sweet and everything you want in a scratch cake. It's easy to make too. Just be prepared that the dominant flavor is banana. It could easily be called banana cake. I followed the recipe exactly. Pineapple was in there somewhere but you couldn't taste it. Just banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
every one loved it it was nice and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great recipe, very moist and tasty cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States