Hummingbird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Was going through a baking urge and chose this to make one night for dessert. I did make a few changes though, I didn't drain the pineapple, used pecans and I used a store bought cream cheese icing (didn't want to make a trip to the store and had the frosting already). I must say that the cake is good, not great. While, I love banana bread, I was expecting this would not be so similar to it. If I ever made this again I would probably tweek it even further by using LESS banana, probably a cup vs the two and I would probably haul my butt to the store to get the ingredients for the frosting because the store bought stuff has a bit of an artificial taste to it. If you LOVE banana bread then you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Followed the recipe except: I mashed the bananas in a food processor and added fresh pineapple to that and pureed it all together. I baked it in a full sheet cake pan and it only need about 45-50 minutes at 350. Great texture and flavor! Thanks for getting me outside the basic cake box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Is it a good cake? Yes, moist and sweet and everything you want in a scratch cake. It's easy to make too. Just be prepared that the dominant flavor is banana. It could easily be called banana cake. I followed the recipe exactly. Pineapple was in there somewhere but you couldn't taste it. Just banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
every one loved it it was nice and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great recipe, very moist and tasty cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
The cake came out delicious. It will be five stars next time with the following tweaks. I found cooking it the full hour made it a little dry so next time I'll cut back to 50min. I also added 1tsp Cinnamon and 1tsp Vanilla and I think that really made it extra delicious, wouldn't have been so good without it. Brought it into the office and all my coworkers loved it. Otherwise a great cake I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I have made this exact recipe for years, accept for the black walnuts, I like English. I bought this generic cream cheese and froze it. When I made the icing it was grainy, so don't use cheap cream cheese. I am going to make this cake in loaf pans without the icing and pretend it's banana bread. I can't find a good banana bread recipe so will try this as one, I think it'll pass. It is so moist, it's my favorite to make and to eat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very good recipe. The first I have found that gives a cake texture. Other recips give a banana bread result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Very moist and tasty! Made recipe exactly and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
this is similiar to carrot cake and i dint have all purpose flour so i used whole wheat flour loved this very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States