Hummingbird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Very very yummy!!! I made it for Christmas and it relatively easy- the only time consuming thing was figuring out how many bananas equalled 2 cups and actually mashing the bananas (use approx. 5 med-large bananas and a potato masher). Otherwise, very easy to make. Reminded me of one of my grand- mother's cakes, but this was better! I'll be passing it along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
A friend made it for my birthday. Having gotten rather tired of Banana Nut Muffins (too fake tasting), I was delighted at how good this cake is. She did press nuts into the frosting. It was HEAVEN, and we will make it again. Very fresh banana taste, very moist, and no big wet pineapple chunks. Blended right in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
i found this recipe years ago in an old cookbook and everybody just adored it!my daughter even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Hummingbird cake started life as a spice cake with banana and pineapple. This cake was made more delicious by adding 1t cinnamon and 1t alspice. Also, to enhance the banana flavor I processed the bananas in a blender. For some reason this releases more banana flavor into the cake. This is a moist and rich treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I was not impressed with this cake. It had more of a banana bread taste and texture than a cake. The ingredients like the banana,pineapple and pecans go great on a store bought yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Very lush and yummy. A bit of a hassle mashing bananas, crushing pineapple and chopping nuts but well worth the result as co-workers love the result. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
WONDERFUL cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I usually bake this in a tube pan and I add a dash of cinnamon to the batter. Pre-made cream cheese frosting works well with this cake. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I had made this a few years ago and loves it but using this recipe it tasted like a really good bananna bread with frosting. Not a bad recipe at all just not what I was aiming for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This recipe is great. Try replacing the oil with applesauce for a healthier version. My family prefers the applesauce-version on taste alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayBH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raytown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States