Hummingbird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
amazing and pretty easy! a nice alternative to carrot cake! Flavors were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
It was good. Definitely cooked in under an hour. A bit "banana-ie" for my taste but I can certainly appriciate the flavors! The frosting is very tasty!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Braiden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made this cake for MIL's 90th birthday party. It was hit! The first of three cakes to be eaten. Very yummy. Very east to prepare. I had frozen some uneaten bananas and used them in this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I added some cardamom, cinnamon and allspice to mine and only used banana because I didn't want it to come out tasting like a banana nut bread with extra flavors added to it and I'm happy I did; the banana flavor was nice and blended with the other flavors well, not dominating as I feared 2 mashed bananas would be. I looked up some of the history of this cake and a lot of people claim that originally it was a kind of spice cake so that's another reason why I added them. I used pecans instead of walnuts this time, and overall it was a really delicious cake. I folded the egg whites in at the end as well. Overall, it's a pretty decadent cake, it's one of those that you bake to kind of impress people, not really because you're craving it so bad. It's not my favorite sort of dessert. I like my desserts a little bit simpler, but I just wanted to try this. If the opportunity comes up I would make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
The best I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iC@nCo0K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Cake came out Yummy.. I added a Half a cup of coconut and next time I would only use 1 cup of bananas ( not 2) the banana taste is a little over powering..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissM.
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Fantastic cake mmm! I followed everything exactly except I used whole wheat flour, and added 1/2 cup shredded coconut to the mixture. It came out moist and delicious, not overly banana-bread-ish like people have said. To cut calories use apple sauce instead of vegetable oil or use a "better" oil such as olive oil. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissM.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I made this for a Sunday dinner and everyone raved over it! Even people who normally aren't "dessert" people, took pieces when urged by everyone else...and they ended up eating every bite and saying it was awesome! Will definitely make again. I didn't change a thing - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I tried other viewers suggestions to cut down on the oil which now I wish I hadn't. It wasn't as moist as I'd hoped for. Will follow the recipe as written next time I make it and hope for moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Turned out great! I dyed some toasted coconut flakes green so it looked like Easter grass. Very nice and moist. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States