Hummingbird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Everybody at my home loves this cake. It's a bit of my "go to" cake since it's so easy to put together, and I generally have all the ingredients on hand. I do tweak it a bit with two small changes. First, I use vegetable oil instead of the canola and cut the oil back to 1 cup. We just like the flavor the vegetable oil gives verses the canola. Secondly, I use a 20 oz can of crused pineapple UNDRAINED. This makes a fairly dense cake, but super moist. Comes out beautifully every time. Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I had added golden raisins to the top of each one. Browned perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I absolutely loved how moist this cake came out to be. I want to add maybe raisins and grated carrot next time. Although I also added vanilla to the cake mix, I think I added too much to the icing because it was not as thick as a store-brought version, but it definitely had a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Tastes like banana bread with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I loved it with my changes: only 1 cup of oil, added a teaspoon of cinnamon, and did not drain the crushed pineapple. Also, toast the walnuts first! I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of orange extract to the frosting. This is the tastiest, moistest (is that a word?) cake ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
The first time I made this was after my boyfriend had asked that I try something other than traditional vanilla or chocolate cake. I came across this recipe and knew I had to try it because it sounded as if it was created for him. To my delight, he loved it and couldn't stop telling people about it as if they'd never heard of cake before! So many thanks to MARBALET for posting this particular recipe as I get ready to make it once again for my boyfriend's birthday tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Made exact to recipe, and it was so/so. Kind of bland. Made again and added 1 tsp cinnamin, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 2 tsp vanilla. What a big difference. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Good, good, good. Didn't bake in layers but didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
More like banana bread but certainly makes a very nice dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was a very, very yummy cake! What a nice surprise. I read about this cake in a culinary novel and wanted to try it. I thought it would be a nice change from our traditional Easter carrot cake...and...it was! I took some of the tips and added a half cup of shredded coconut to the batter. I also added a middle layer of coconut, pineapple and sliced bananas on top of the icing. I decorated the top with more shredded coconut and more chopped walnuts. It was the hit of Easter and the day after...we had to remove it from the table so my cousin would stop eating it! My only suggestion is to bake the cake at 325, not 350...that's too high. The bottom and sides came out a bit darker than I'd like. But it was still delish! Red Velvet move over...Hummingbird is becoming my new signature cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States