Hummingbird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Wanted to LOVE it, but it was way overcooked. Do NOT BAKE for ONE HOUR!!! I checked mine at 45 minutes and it was close to burnt. (At 350 in 2 professional grade 9" round springform pans.) With that said, I'm dying to try this again. My family loved it!! I only changed one thing, I substituted 1 cup of flour with coconut flour. My mom doesn't like pineapple and my dad doesn't like coconut but they both asked for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is an amazing cake! I make this cake every year for my youngest daughter's family birthday party. I always get loads of compliments at the party. It's a winner! Thanks for posting it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susannah Schaff
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe worked out quite well, and was very easy to make. That said, all of you who commented before comparing this to banana bread are 100% spot-on. This is an elevated, super-moist, fluffy and sweet banana bread with cream cheese frosting- not that there's anything wrong with that! I will feel less guilty eating it for breakfast tomorrow. The recipe as written does not call for cinnamon and/or nutmeg, so I added a pinch of each. People with more distinguished tastebuds than I can decide whether that helps. Also I used vegetable oil instead of canola, which I think made it slightly crispy on the outside (YUM!) and baked it in the oven next to a shallow dish full of water while listening to David Bowie's Lodger, which I think was a positive influence on the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah Schaff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrington Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
It turned out like banana bread with frosting, but it was still pretty good. Don't skimp on the frosting though if you are looking for more of a cake. Also I'd use more pineapple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Very delicious! Took it to work, big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
VERY moist cake, simple to make, tastes very good but the banana is the primary flavor, I was hoping the pineapple and coconut (I added) would be the focus and the banana would be a background flavor. I changed the recipe some but will tweak it again next time I make it to try to perfect my idea of what hummingbird cake should be. I keep uneaten bananas (I call them baking bananas) in my freezer, defrosted 3 of them which came out to about 1 cup of banana mash - would use 2 baking bananas next time. I did not drain my pineapple (8 oz crushed), next time I would use a 10 or 12 oz can as I was hoping it would stand out a little more. I added I cup of shredded coconut (will use a little more next time 1.5 cups maybe). I used 1 cup white sugar and 1 3/4 cups packed brown sugar and vegetable oil as I was out of applesauce but I would probably still use some/mostly oil because it makes it so moist. I also added a generous splash of vanilla and about 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I baked everything at 325 degrees in dark, non-stick Baking Pam'd pans: 2 mini bunt cakes (single serving/large cupcake size) for 32 minutes, 5 regular cupcakes for 26 minutes both are so moist I may not frost them and serve them to my boys for breakfast! I put the remainder of the cake in a 13x9 and baked it a total of 1 hour, it looks dark on top but still feels moist, I won't know if it's overdone until tomorrow. I would use this as a banana bread recipe, still trying to perfect my version, not a failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denece Frisbie
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!! I had to cut the oil 3/4 C. Oil, 3/4 C. Applesauce for Heath reasons. And I used the juice and all from the pineapple. SUPER MOIST. I also sprinkled cinnamon sugar "generously" on top of cake before baking. I made an orange flavored cream cheese frosting as a filler, and decorated with "Rick's special buttercream" cutting the sugar by 1 1/2 cups. The flavor combination is amazing. Thanks for the recipe!!! Oh, I baked in 9" round pans at 325* for about 50-55 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. I do cook it about 5-10 minutes longer, but thats my preference. The taste is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quin
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
it tastes amazing, however I did take the advice from someof the other rreviews. I added 1tsp of cinnamon 1tsp of allspice. I added a half cup of brown sugar and I used the juice from the can of crushed pineapples. i also used walnuts and pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Was going through a baking urge and chose this to make one night for dessert. I did make a few changes though, I didn't drain the pineapple, used pecans and I used a store bought cream cheese icing (didn't want to make a trip to the store and had the frosting already). I must say that the cake is good, not great. While, I love banana bread, I was expecting this would not be so similar to it. If I ever made this again I would probably tweek it even further by using LESS banana, probably a cup vs the two and I would probably haul my butt to the store to get the ingredients for the frosting because the store bought stuff has a bit of an artificial taste to it. If you LOVE banana bread then you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States