Hummingbird Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Wonderful cake! I made this for the family at Christmas and everyone loved it! The cake is very dense and moist. I made no changes to the ingredients themselves, but I did cook this in 4 eight inch round pans to make 4 thin layers (about 1 3/4 c batter per pan). I used the same cook time and it was perfect. I also made an extra half serving of the icing so it would be easy to decorate - but the cake stands up on its own, extra icing is definitely not necessary! I did not mix the pecans in the icing, but used them for decoration. Great recipe! I'll be making this regularly in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
A wonderful twist I would have never thought of! This + pineapple ice cream was a great way to end the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made this for a birthday work party. Everyone loved it (except 2 who didn't like pineapple, their loss!). Next time I will try it with less oil though. I did put a layer of frosting in between 2 9 inch layers with some more pineapple and bananas. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
It was okay but giving the recipe the benefit of the doubt is that I didn't do something right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I've made this twice - once substituting 1c applesauce for 1c of oil, and once making it as stated in the recipe. Both times the cake had a wonderful flavor. I think it was much better before it was frosted. As others have said, the frosting is very sweet, and it overpowers the light fruity cake. I will have to experiment with frostings, but the cake is really lovely. Oh, and I will only make it with the applesauce next time b/c it doesn't seem to change the texture or flavor noticeably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is based upon the rating my uncle gave me. He had an aunt that always use to make it. He requested for someone to give it a shot and I have become the "baker" in the family and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Surprisingly good. I made a few changes because I was short on ingredients but it was still perfectly wonderful. A great cake...I was told that this was "the best cake I have ever tasted" by more than one person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. My Aunt always made a Hummingbird Cake that was delicious and I'm glad I have found an almost exact replica of hers. Thank You so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This cake has great flavor! It is very dense but moist. I made it in a single layar but next time I will do a double layar and try putting the banana slices in between. I think using very ripe bananas would also enhance the flavor. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This recipe is delicious, and very similar to one I have been making for years with wonderful results!! When I make this recipe my husband devours it within hours, so I strive to make it (a bit) healthier by substituting the vegetable oil for apple sauce. I have used both chunky and smooth, and both work great, although I prefer the chunky myself. Its just as delicious, and you cut out tons of calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States