Hummingbird Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I'm just rating the cake portion of this recipe. Fantastic, I didn't change a thing. It was much more dense than I expected sort of like banana bread. The pineapple in it was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I made a few changes. Here is Hummingbird Cake: Stefani Style. I added 3 t of coconut flavoring. I used only one banana. Adding 2 c of banana made it taste a bit too much like banana bread to me. I doubled the pineapple. Then I added a touch more coconut flavoring to the icing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Wonderful cake! I made this for the family at Christmas and everyone loved it! The cake is very dense and moist. I made no changes to the ingredients themselves, but I did cook this in 4 eight inch round pans to make 4 thin layers (about 1 3/4 c batter per pan). I used the same cook time and it was perfect. I also made an extra half serving of the icing so it would be easy to decorate - but the cake stands up on its own, extra icing is definitely not necessary! I did not mix the pecans in the icing, but used them for decoration. Great recipe! I'll be making this regularly in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
A wonderful twist I would have never thought of! This + pineapple ice cream was a great way to end the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made this for a birthday work party. Everyone loved it (except 2 who didn't like pineapple, their loss!). Next time I will try it with less oil though. I did put a layer of frosting in between 2 9 inch layers with some more pineapple and bananas. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
It was okay but giving the recipe the benefit of the doubt is that I didn't do something right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I've made this twice - once substituting 1c applesauce for 1c of oil, and once making it as stated in the recipe. Both times the cake had a wonderful flavor. I think it was much better before it was frosted. As others have said, the frosting is very sweet, and it overpowers the light fruity cake. I will have to experiment with frostings, but the cake is really lovely. Oh, and I will only make it with the applesauce next time b/c it doesn't seem to change the texture or flavor noticeably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is based upon the rating my uncle gave me. He had an aunt that always use to make it. He requested for someone to give it a shot and I have become the "baker" in the family and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Surprisingly good. I made a few changes because I was short on ingredients but it was still perfectly wonderful. A great cake...I was told that this was "the best cake I have ever tasted" by more than one person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. My Aunt always made a Hummingbird Cake that was delicious and I'm glad I have found an almost exact replica of hers. Thank You so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States