Hummingbird Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Made this as written, delicious! One caution ... the cake is done before it LOOKS done. Use the toothpick test and don't overbake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
i just made this cake today, and it turned out very well. Only, I substituted the baking powder for baking soda. I had no bananas, so I used coconut instead. Also, I used cocoanut in the icing instead of pecans, because I was serving this in the resturant instead of my own kitchen, to cater to people with allergies. But, all in all this recipe worked quite well for me. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
didn't rise much but good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiwi
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This recipe though great, is too sweet. I reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cup for the cake. As for icing, I reduced the icing sugar to only 2 cups (instead of 4cups). Even that is too sweet for my liking. I decorated the sides with Pecan granola bar I found in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiwi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This cake was really tasty. I threw all the ingredients in the mixer. I didn't worry with the separate mixings, and the cake came out fine! I received a marriage proposal (from another woman) after she ate one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This cake was very good. I regret cutting back on the oil because I found it to be a little dry. Next time I will use the full amount of oil. I also followed the reccomendations to add the pineapple juice. That was a good idea because the batter is very thick. As far the frosting, I used only 3 cups of confectioner's sugar. I will make this cake again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyomissing, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My son wanted to have an "I love you Party" for my Mom so I wanted to make something different that I thought she would like. I actually saw a version of this cake on Cupcake Wars so I came on AR and searched for a recipe. I followed the recipe with the exception of cutting the oil down to one cup and it turned out delicious. I used a cream cheese frosting from this site and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar and topped with a cherry. My mom absolutely loved them and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This cake was not good. I made it exactly like the recipe. Surprisingly flavorless. AND I took this to a group gathering as the only treat. I was very disappointed. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Weston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I was pretty disappointed with this cake. After seeing the picture and reading all of the rave reviews I was excited to try this recipe out for my sons birthday. My cake was really heavy and very dense/gummy- it actually looked "uncooked" when it was cut. I won't be making this again, everyone left some on their plates - and in my family that doesn't often happen with desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
VERY delicious! Made in a 9x13. I used frozen/ thawed ripe bananas. I love the crunch of the pecans. Nice and moist. I used self- rising flour and cut out the baking powder and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States