Hummingbird Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have tried it but the picture shows it in a bundt pan and the recipe says 3 cake pans. I would like to know how long you would bake it in a bundt pan. This is a delicious cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Made this into a 9x13 sheet cake. Came out perfectly. I especially liked the frosting -- mine wasn't runny at all. I do think I would add another 8oz of pineapple in the future. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Let me tell anyone out there who wants to make this cake...do not HESITATE another minute. This is my go-to cake for any event. It is the most fabulous and you'll have to tie down people hands from eating the whole thing right then and there...before dinner even LOL. I frosted just the top with vanilla frosting, but I'm sure cream cheese frosting would be wonderful. My method was: mix all wet ingredients, then dry making sure the bkg soda has no lumps (yuck) and is mixed in well. Then incorporate the bananas and pineapple and walnuts just to fold them in and stop mixing there. The cake is dense and just so lovely with just enough cinnamon. I think I would add raisins too for a variation at times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I make in bundt pan. Had no problem with frosting. everyone loves it. Have made it with and without nuts ( due to allergy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristy
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Made this yesterday it was very good. Used alittle less powder sihar since hubby likes it less sweet and added a little pineapple juice to thin it so it would drizzle easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Wonderful! Just like my Grandmother's cake. Its funny, I thought this was a secret family recipe until I saw this. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Made this cake for Christmas dessert and it was good. I did sub apple sauce for the oil only because I did not have any and it tasted great very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Terrific cake. I scaled it up to 16 servings, which makes a very generous 3 layer cake in 9 inch pans. I added extra pineapple and banana. In addition, I used not only cinnamon, but also nutmeg, cloves, and allspice. When it comes to spices and seasonings, more often than not, I cook by instinct, so I didn't measure the spices, but the cake was excellent. I made a double serving of cream cheese frosting, as I do not like to skimp on frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
My family loved this cake!!! I will be adding it to favorite cake list. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This cake was excellent! Served this at a family dinner and received rave reviews. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States