Hummingbird Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This is AWESOME!! Husband, kids and I all loved it. Only thing I did different was double the pineapple and juice (by accident, I halved the recipe but forgot to half the pineapple.) Still turned out great. Will definitely make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I subbed all the oil with applesauce, I used only 1 whole egg and 2 egg beaters and truvia sugar blend for the sugar. I cut the banana to 1 cup and added a little extra pineapple. I have to say, this cake was amazing! It's dense, just sweet enough, the cream cheese icing that I made from this site was just perfect for it! Hubby loved it and I took some to work and it was a big hit there too! I will definitely make again! Thanks Carol for posting this wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Hayes Stutts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
The best cake ever. I get a lot of requests for this and it's always the first dessert that's gone when I bring it. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Great recipe!! I reduced the sugar to 1 3/4 cups, but the next time, I think I will try using only 1 1/2 cups. Also, to reduce the amount of oil, I always use 1/2 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. Still moist without all the oil. I also like walnuts in this recipe. I made cupcakes, filling the cups about 3/4 full and baking at 375* for approx. 20 minutes. I sometimes frost the cupcakes with either cream cheese or vanilla buttercream frosting. Wonderful with or without frosting! I have prepared this recipe in a loaf pan for a bread, in cake pans, and a jelly roll pan with the baking times adjusted. Versatile and Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobettern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
mmm....... the cake was soo good. brought it to a surprise birthday party, and lo and behold, my cake was the birthday cake (didn't know that it was a birthday party and my friends forgot to buy a cake and decided to use this instead).I Made a couple of changes. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups only. 1/2 part palm sugar and 1/2 part white sugar. I also reduced to oil to 3/4 cup only. I didn't have crushed pineapple but I did have some fresh pineapples. Process them in the food processor and drain half of the juice. I mashed up the bananas, and used almond instead of pecan (too expensive). I added ½ tsp allspice powder. Baked them for 1hr and 30 minutes. The cake was soo dense and eventhough everyone was full with all the food we had in the party, they kept on raving about it. Oh yes, I use Cream Cheese Frosting II from this website too as the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Bouma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I substituted 3/4 cup of the oil with coconut milk. I also added coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie33

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I like to make this as cupcakes. I don't add pecans to the cake, I make cream cheese pecan frosting with them. A HUGE hit when I took to a recent potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I used walnuts instead of pecans. And made them cupcakes, and watched as people went for seconds, and even thirds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was very tasty and worked well with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Having only eaten Hummingbird cake once I was eager to try to make it myself. I made a few minor adjusments as well. I used only 1 cup of canola/veg blend oil, 2tsp. Of Madagascar vanilla, cinnamon, a little nutmeg, and allspice. I could only find 15.5 oz. cans of crushed pineapple. I used 3/4 of the can. I mashed 4 very ripe bananas. I used a Kitchen Aid mixer on the lowest speed blending the eggs first, adding the wet ingredients before the dry. I made cupcakes. The batter yielded about 26 cupcakes. They cake was very moist. I would cut back the oil a little more the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States