Huli Huli Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by krisgo
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was fantastic entree that I prepared today. I made minor modifications due to the fact that I had mixed recipes up. Otherwise it would have been 5 stars. I increased the ketchup to 3/4 cup and brown sugar to one cup as that was what the other recipe called for. After tasting before marinating, I did add more pineapple juice. Marinated for 5 hours and then I grilled the chicken breasts on the grill basting with reserved marinade not used on the chicken. Complete kid and hubby pleaser. Working into the summer menu rotation. I feel like this recipe is a winner as is but I'm glad I made my mistake and ended up with a slightly different version of huli huli. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisgo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Easy and tasty! Made this for friends and there were no leftovers. I served it over jasmine rice. Big hit! I cooked the boneless skinless chicken breast in a slow cooker on high for 4 hours. I added cornstarch to thicken the gravy. The second time....I used boneless skinless thighs and served with steamed broccoli. Easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This Huli Huli chicken will transport you to Hawaii! So wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Wow! I made this chicken tonight and the entire family loved it. I made a few substitutions. I used Bragg's Amino Acids in place of soy sauce for my daughter, who is gluten-free, and used Splenda Brown-Sugar Blend in place of brown sugar. I marinated my boneless, skinless chicken breasts overnight and cooked them on the grill over medium heat, turning and basting every 2 1/2 minutes for about 8-10 minutes (smaller breasts came off sooner). I also grilled some fresh pineapple and basted it with the sauce. Delicious! Can't wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This marinade made the chicken so juicy, my guests raved. I made extra marinade, so that my husband could baste with marinade that had no raw chicken juice in it. He grilled it on the barbeque grill, and turned it every 10 minutes, but he forgot to baste it much, and one batch, he did not baste at all. However, the chicken was still very flavorful and juicy. Sometimes breast meat on the grill can get dried out, but this had running juices after grilling! It would probably have more marinade flavor if you remembered to baste it as directed, but even if you don't, the flavor and juiciness will be wonderful. We will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
OMG this was AMAZING! I used boneless pork short ribs instead of chicken, and it was delicious! I didn't have sherry so I used a splash of ACV and Dry Vermouth. I only marinaded the pork with half the marinade and reduced the other half to make a sauce. Cooked the pork on the grill and made rice and coleslaw to go with it. I had leftover sauce and it made an awesome sauce for a stir-fry the next day with the leftover pork! I will be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
My family and I made this for the first time during our 4th of July cook out. It was a big hit and we are already planning to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We used skinless chicken breast & baked on 350. It was good, but we have other recipes similar to this that are a little more flavorful so we won't be making this again. If we didn't like our other recipe better I'd have kept this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
We used boneless, skinless breasts. Since they were thin, we baked at 375 for 10 minutes. Only thing we changed in the marinade was the substitution of 4 tsp of ground ginger for the fresh. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I'm rating only 3 stars based on the instructions. I liked the marinade but I would never use marinade that raw chicken sat in to baste anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States