Huli Huli Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This marinade made the chicken so juicy, my guests raved. I made extra marinade, so that my husband could baste with marinade that had no raw chicken juice in it. He grilled it on the barbeque grill, and turned it every 10 minutes, but he forgot to baste it much, and one batch, he did not baste at all. However, the chicken was still very flavorful and juicy. Sometimes breast meat on the grill can get dried out, but this had running juices after grilling! It would probably have more marinade flavor if you remembered to baste it as directed, but even if you don't, the flavor and juiciness will be wonderful. We will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
OMG this was AMAZING! I used boneless pork short ribs instead of chicken, and it was delicious! I didn't have sherry so I used a splash of ACV and Dry Vermouth. I only marinaded the pork with half the marinade and reduced the other half to make a sauce. Cooked the pork on the grill and made rice and coleslaw to go with it. I had leftover sauce and it made an awesome sauce for a stir-fry the next day with the leftover pork! I will be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
My family and I made this for the first time during our 4th of July cook out. It was a big hit and we are already planning to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We used skinless chicken breast & baked on 350. It was good, but we have other recipes similar to this that are a little more flavorful so we won't be making this again. If we didn't like our other recipe better I'd have kept this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
We used boneless, skinless breasts. Since they were thin, we baked at 375 for 10 minutes. Only thing we changed in the marinade was the substitution of 4 tsp of ground ginger for the fresh. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I'm rating only 3 stars based on the instructions. I liked the marinade but I would never use marinade that raw chicken sat in to baste anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
My husband usually prefers oven fried chicken over other chicken recipes, but he loved this. Cooked until the breast piece registered 160 degrees, but that made it a bit dry. Next time will take it out at 155 degrees. Prepared only 2 pieces but made enough gravy for 1/2 the recipe (4 servings). Heated the remaining marinade to kill the germs, then used it as a gravy for the rice. Only marinaded chicken for 3 hours. Next time will plan ahead and marinate overnight. Was delicious, nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I left out the brown sugar and am giving it 5 stars. It would have been far too sweet otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I love this recipe and so do my guests! I prefer to prepare on the grill verses cooking in the oven, especially in the summer. When grilling, I continue to baste and turn the chicken almost every 4 minutes so the meat stays really moist. This recipe is quick and easy to prepare and is always a big hit. The fresh ginger and garlic really add to the flavor. As an alternative recipe, I've also sliced the chicken after preparation and put into toasted tortilla shells with melted sharp cheddar, fresh cilantro, avocado and pico de gallo. This is a great way to serve as a finger food and works perfect for tailgating parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
AMAZING. I grilled both chicken bone-in and boneless thighs - so tender and sweet. I saved some marinade to baste while grilling. A great summer recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States