Huli Huli Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used blsl chicken breasts. When baked as indicated, they did not turn golden brown. Half way through, I decided to turn on the broiler to see if I could get a more appealing color. As marinades go, this is basically a sweet teriyaki sauce. I know the “huli, huli” is what makes this recipe a special Hawaiian dish, but there are other baked teriyaki chicken recipes out there that do not require the constant turning and taste just as good, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
An easy marinade made with ingredients I typically keep on hand. Received rave reviews at a BBQ where we grilled the chicken. I used boneless skinless chicken breast cutlets and thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Easy and tasty. My picky boyfriend had nothing but good things to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
"This is excellent", said George. I thought so too. I used this marinade on country style pork ribs instead of chicken. I did not have sherry on hand so omitted that ingredient. After leaving the pork in the marinade for 6 hours, I covered with foil and cooked them in the toaster oven at 250 degrees for 90 mintues. We finished them up on the outdoor grill and cooked the pork for an additional 20 minutes. I will definately make this again with pork or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. Pretty good... gets browned in oven pretty quickly. Basted as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My family loved this. I used frozen chicken breast and put all ingredients in a crock pot on high for about 6 hours. Then removed drippings and reduced it on the stove with cornstarch to make a thick sauce. Served over brown rice, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndejong765

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
We really enjoyed it! I used 2 large bone-in chicken breasts and halved the marinade. I left them in the fridge over night. While the oven preheated, I boiled the marinade, reduced the temp and let it simmer to thicken to use as a baste. I will definitely make this again and grill it next time. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 06, April 2013 ~ We had 2 selections this week, this being one of them. This was a good recipe to use bone-in chicken. I used part of the marinade for the chicken, and cooked down the rest to use on the rice and chicken when serving. We had a nice day and decided to grill rather than bake. It got brown on the grill, looking at the picture you would think it was burnt, but it wasn’t in the least. The chicken had lots of flavor and it paired nicely with sticky rice and ‘Cabbage on the Grill’ another AR recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group the week of 4/6/13. This was just "ok" for me. Actually, I took 1 bite & made myself eggs instead but my daughter liked it. The soy sauce was overpowering & even tho I used a low sodium soy, it was still too salty. There are MANY recipes on here w/a very similar taste profile & this one just flopped for me. The sauce is also a muddy brown, extremely unappetizing looking. I'm sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by patticakes43
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
For Recipe Group 4/8/13 - This chicken was very, very tasty. I usually only do the least amount of marinade time possible but I'm glad I went with doing it overnight. Totally worth the wait. I made some minor changes but nothing too out there. First of all, I adjusted the recipe for 6 servings but only used 6 chicken breasts. I didn't have sherry, so I used extra pineapple juice instead. When it came to cook time, I preheated the oven at 425* F, but instead of putting it in the broiler right away, I put it in the oven. Let it cook 10 minutes, flipped it, basted it with the marinade and let it cook another 10 minutes. During that 10 minutes, I thicken the rest of the marinade with 1 tbsp of cornstarch on the stove-top. Then I flipped the chicken, basted it with the thickened sauce, moved the pan to the broiler and cooked for another 10 minutes. Finally, I flipped it again, basted it and broiled for another 5 minutes to get nice char on top. Once out, I basted it a final time and let it rest for about 5 minutes and then sliced. My family absolutely loved it. Usually, they hate when I make back to back chicken recipes but there wasn't one grumble or complaint. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States