Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Easy and wonderful if you don't make the mistake I did. RUB means use very little and really rub it in hard. Not smash each side of the meat down into a bowl of the stuff! LOL a learning experience for me. It was wonderful when used correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
A teriffic spice rub indeed. I have used this on lean pork chops as well as chicken with excellent results. This is how I use it (adopted from Cook's Illustrated recipe for chops or skinless chicken breasts): Take 4 pieces of meat (chop or breast) and brine in a solution of 1 quart water, 1/2 cup kosher salt, 1/2 cup suger for 1 hour. Drain and pat the meat dry. In a 1 gal zip-loc bag, put 2 tablespoons of the dry rub and 2 tablespoons of olive oil (too much olive oil will dilute the spice). Mush the bag around to mix the spices and olive oil. Add the meat to the bag, seal, and toss for a minute to coat. Once coated, place the meat directly onto the grill and grill according to usual meat cooking instructions (5 minutes each side on high heat for the chicken, 3 minutes each side on high heat, followed by 5 minutes on meium-low heat for the chops). We've also used this rub on chicken that we then grill, cut into slices, and use for chicken burritos. The flavors in this spice rub are excellent for mexican dishes. I make a low-carb version of a burrito using large lettuce pieces as my tortilla with guacamole, sour cream, cheese, a few slices of the spiced chicken, and a small bit of salsa for a truly wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
Great recipe with just the right amount of spice. For ribs, I would coat first with yellow mustard and then put the rub on. This helps it stick better and makes a nice crispy crust. During cooking, place some of the rub with the contents of 1 beer.Baste frequently while cooking for extra flavour. Mmmmmmm-Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
This rub is outstanding!! I tried it on a whim one night when my roomate and I were grilling some steaks and I am SOOO glad that I did!! I scaled the recipe to 9, and it STILL made a ton. We used it on New York strip. I rubbed 1-2 tablespoons of the rub into each steak, then lightly coated them with about 1 tablespoon (each) of olive oil (the oil seems to make the steak ALOT jucier...which is my favorite part of a steak!) and let them sit in the fridge for about half an hour. We made them alongside Pan-Fried Asparagus (also on this site) and some Lipton noodles and it was one of the best dinners I have ever made!! I did cut down on the amount of Paprika (because I ran out) and Cayenne (used less than half of what was called for) and it was just perfect. Had a little kick to it, but not what I'd call spicy. This is SOOO good, you must try it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
We used this rub with Tri-Tip...it was amazing it gave it a wonderful taste. We used olive oil to make the rub stick and it also helps keep the meat from drying out. We will be using this rub again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Good, but not great. I halved the recipe to try out of a few different pieces of meat. I only used 1 tablespoon of black pepper and 1 tablespoon of cayenne (kids). I used about 3 tablespoon on a pork butt cooked on low in the crock pot for 9 hours and it really added nice flavor. I also tried this on chicken tenders on the grill, not happy with the flavor on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This was awesome. I used this on grilled chicken for some friends who helped with a roofing project. Even the guys pasted up the steak for the chicken, everyone is still raving about it. Going to try it tonight on chicken with a sweet BBQ sauce over top....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Scheff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Awesome...I've used this on steak, chicken and pork so far. My boyfriend is on Atkins so we've been looking for ways to spice up some meat and this is a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Dufour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I really liked this rub, but my husband thought it was over powering. Because we have a toddler (and I found out too late I didn't have any) I left the cayenne out. I won't make it again, because my husband hated it, but I would recommend you try it because I did like it. I found the flavor a little smokey and used it on steaks that I grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
The dry rub itself is a good combo of flavors, BUT, I think it's important to use a good cut of meat to bring OUT those flavors!! I used pork sirloin chops and they didn't come out as I had hoped. I reduced the amount of cayenne drastically, otherwise, it would have been too hot for my 16 month old. I let the meat marinate all day but it was not exploding with flavor. I guess pork has a tendency to be a little on the dry side if not cooked properly. Maybe that's what happened in this case. May try again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States