Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I hate to give any recipe a bad review, but we just didn't care for this. We both felt it was way too salty and salt was the first flavor I tasted. I didn't think it was too spicy, and thought the spice level was ok. I did scale this down for 8 servings, so it is possible the measurements may have been slightly off, but I did follow the recipe as written. We both felt this tasted southwestern, which wasn't really what we were looking for. I may try this again in the future, but I would reduce the amount of salt by at least half, and perhaps add a very small amount of sugar or brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
a little goes a long way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This had a nice kick. Used it on rib-eye steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Love the taste !! Used it on a smoked turkey breast and everything turned out moist. I too cut back the salt and and added more garlic powder. Hope to use it on more meats and seafood. Thanks for sharing!~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Delicious! Reduced salt by 2 tablespoons and replaced cayenne pepper with red pepper flakes because that is what I had on hand. Rubbed on chicken and grilled on the George Foreman grill for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Loved it, we don't eat salt so I skipped that & for the pepper I used a Worcestershire Pepper blend. It will be used in many recipes here, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
If I was standing next to Hugh I'd give him a great big hug! This rub is fantasic! The only change I made is instead of table salt I used Kosher coarse salt. It was not salty at all. I grilled some country ribs and it was delicious. Some I add BBQ sauce and some I left memphis style. This will be my rub of choice! Thanks Hugh for sharing your recipe rub. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gospelmusiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
its very tasty when you use it with meat in almost any application, but..its very salty. i think the next time i make it i will either leave out the salt or reduce the amount to maybe 1 tablespoon. otherwize its very good, has a very nice bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
this recipe is the bomb; i've used on chicken, steaks, turkey, ribs....Is great every time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States