Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Excellent rub that made great tasting grilled chicken. The only change I made was to reduce the amount of salt. Thank you Hugh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I used this for some steaks my husband wanted to grill. I used chili powder in place of the cayenne (I didn't have any) and I added some brown sugar. I thought this was good, not great. It didn't have a "wow" factor to it, but it was really good in a fajita soup I made the next day with the left over steak and a few tablespoons of this rub I threw in. Ill play around w/ the amount of some of the spices so it suits our tastes a little bit better. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Get down this stuff is great. I followed the recipe to a T. I put this rub on Ribs and everyone enjoyed it. This will be my rub of choice from here on in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This stuff is awesome, better than the dry rub I get in restaurants. Have been making this for years, and should have given it 5 stars long ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This rub was a great complement to the barbecue chicken I made last night! I did cut back a bit on the cayenne (about 1/3 of the recipe's suggestion) as I didn't want it too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Reduced the paprika as suggested. Still paprika & garlic are the dominant flavors. It does make a lot of rub so I made a fourth of it with these measurements: 1T paprika, 1 1/8t cayenne, 1 1/2t black pepper, 2t garlic 1t onion powder, 1T salt, 1/2t sugar, 1/4t thyme. Good, but not all that special. I used mine on boneless chicken breasts. Rubbed the spices on then coated with flour & cooked in a pan. Fast dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this for my family on vacation and they loved it!. I placed 4 washed and paper towel patted dry chicken breasts in a gallon zip lock bag. I then mixed 4 tsps of the mix in a bowl with some EVOO. I dumped the wet mix into the zip lock bag and let it marinate for a few hours. The key was the grilling. I preheated my Weber natural gas grill to max heat. I seared each side of the breasts for 2 minutes. I then turned off the middle burner and turned the outside burners to medium. This indirectly cooked the chicken for another 15 minutes or so. The chicken was so tender and moist, my family couldn't believe it. The recipe is a bit spicy. Cut back on the Cayenne of you want a little less kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Y-U-M! The first time I used it I just quickly put it on some pork chops to grill. They were the best pork chops I have ever had. I use this on more than just meat like veggies and I even put it on macaroni n cheese- best macaroni I have ever had. I had to put my input on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
One of the best rubs I've tried.This is the second batch I've made. I did cut back on the cynanne pepper.some don't like it to hot always can add but you can't take it off.. Keeps well in a airtight jar. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I made this rub for pork chops, and actually used it for grilled chicken as well. I found that it coats best when mixed with olive oil (about 1:1). My boyfriend really like the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States