Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
great for deep fried turkey!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This rub was so overwhelming that my family could not enjoy the flavor of the meat. I even reduced the amounts of both peppers and added some brown sugar. We, normally, enjoy spicy food, but this was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serenity O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
We used this rub with Tri-Tip...it was amazing it gave it a wonderful taste. We used olive oil to make the rub stick and it also helps keep the meat from drying out. We will be using this rub again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I like this Rub but I can't give it 5 stars because I thought it was too salty and too Hot. I like spicy and just based on the reviews by others I left out 2 Tbs. of black pepper. Maybe I should have left out one of the Cayenne as well. It was good and with more changes I would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This is great- stores well and I even catch my husband using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcookmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Range, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Used this recipe to season chicken chunks for making kabobs. I knew we were having some spicy sauces for dipping so cut the "spicy" spices in half (paprika, cayenne and pepper) and also couldn't see the need for that much salt in something that had so many bold flavors so left salt out altogether. Followed the directions for brining the chicken suggested by a reviewer and marinated with the rub and olive oil overnight. Also added a cap full of liquid smoke to the marinade which gave it a nice but subtle smokey flavor. The family loved it and it was a fun new twist on chicken skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I thought this was really good. Theres no 'wow' factor but its a great basic rub that can be very versitile. I halved the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Awesome on baby back ribs! Can't wait to try on other meats. I baked the meat instead of grilling and it still turned out great. Thanks Hugh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Works on all cuts of meat! Great Rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Hubby checks my spice rack regularly to make sure i have plenty of this rub on hand! He is picky about spices,but loves this stuff on chicken,steaks,ribs,you name it! "Delicate" tastebuds need not apply!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyewacket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States