Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
It was ok. Found it was missing something so I added cumin, celery seed, and chili powder. Used a lemon flavoured salt and pepper mixture as sub for the 6 tablespoons of salt this calls for. Also the recipe didn't state the type of paprika so I used sweet paprika and you want to talk about a memorable taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MapleRun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Loved it on some steaks kinda hot so I would not use to much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We prepared this mixture and gave it as an item in a gift basket. The recipients can't get enough of this rub, and they use it on all meats and for all styles of cooking their meat. We used pre ground black pepper, and smoked paprika in the version we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gdscooking
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Very easy rub fast to make . I think I may have add to much on my pork chops that Made them darker in color but they tasted very good .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made this tonight as the directions stated. I put it on two Costco whole chickens, and smoked/grilled them on my kamado grill. I ended up letting the heat get too high, and kind of burned the outside, but they were still amazing. I'm a huge griller (I have 7 grills, if that gives you any indication), and have tried many rubs. If you like a little heat, this one is a real winner. I'm thrilled with it! Thanks, Hugh-ever you are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I have tried this on hamburgers and I didn't like it. It had a funny flavor which was the oregano. My own blend was much better but I am always looking for that killer combo blend, so I wanted to give this one a try. It seems a lot of people like this rub but I didn't care for it. It's back to the kitchen lab for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceJunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Really good. My favorite. The oregano and thyme add an interesting flavor. I make this without the salt because I often brine soak the meat first and I can use as much as I want without over salting. I can always sprinkle a bit of salt on anything that needs it. I keep a shaker of this on the shelf so it's always handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
excellent. So quick and so good ! Used it for an work day dinner party so it had to be quick. It has a kick to it and I didn't need to use as much as i did. My 80-somehting father didn't care for it because is's spicy, but everyone else did, even my 7 and 9 year old loved it and request it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I am totally sold on this rub. The only 'tweak' I make is the addition of brown sugar, everything else is kept to the original recipe. I have only used it on chicken and pork...so far. Many thanks Hugh for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I love this on chicken thighs! I crave it! So good. A bit spicy if you don't like spice. BUT IT IS DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States