Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
A great all purpose rub. I've used it on pork, chicken, and steak. I usually make the big batch so that I have it on hand whenever I need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KocinaCocina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This was awesome on our steaks. Especially on the ones were seasoned and then frozen for a later date. By the time those steaks thawed and were cooked they were mouth watering. This dry rub recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I cut the recipe in half, but could've cut into 1/4 because it makes a lot of seasoning. I even reduced the paprika further since it's mainly for color, and cut the cayenne since we have kids. This was still too spicy for the kids, but tastes great. I'm looking forward to using this as a base for adding more seasonings for different types of rubs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I'm a big fan of this rub - I've used it on broiled steaks 3 times and every time it's turned out wonderful - just spicy enough so that when you take a bite its perfectly seasoned. It's also a good "basic" rub from which you can branch out and experiment with different ingredients; I've added both brown sugar and dried, chopped chipotle chilis to the rub and both worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Really good rub; we liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I use this rub all the time. It has a great flavor. Do not use in great amounts unless you like it spicy. Works great on ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Excellent recipe. I deviated a bit from Hugh's recipe and got fantastic results. I used smoked paprika, a pepper blend, less garlic powder and kosher salt instead of table salt. I've used it several times and I'm getting "best ever" feed back from my tasters. Thanks Hugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Great rub!! It has some heat, but it is not too hot for us. We use it on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was too spicy for my taste. I was looking for a rub that was more standard like what you would receive at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
hot! hot! hot! I love it. after my first taste i had to have more!!! i've used my first batch up already--i think this would make an excellent homemade xmas gift, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States