Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is a very good dry rub. It made tons and I have used it on many meats and in some soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I thought the rub was very good. I cut it in half and have plenty left over for the next time. Great bold flavor. I used it generously and let it sit on the chicken for about an hour, I am sure the longer the better as far as thats concerned. The next time i am going to lower the amount of cayenne by half. I want the other flavors to come through and it seemed like the cayenne was dominanting my mouth. Salt content was fine with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
love it. restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schussler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
i seldom rate recipes but just had to give this a 5 star. made no changes and love it on steaks and chicken. soo good and easy to put togeather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This rub is so very good. I've used it several times and it has a lot of excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Did not have any cayenne nor any dry onion powder. I did add some dry onion flakes and kept everything else the same. Great recipe and will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I tried this rub on some chicken. I added a bit more cayenne for some heat as well as 3 tbsp chili powder and 3 tbsp sage. I then grilled the chicken and it had great flavor, but it was very, very salty. I ended up having to make my guests wait an extra 10 minutes while i prepared a salad with avocado, pine nuts, and my personal vinaigrette to toss with the chicken to kill the salty flavor. My recommendation would be to use 3 tbsp or 4 tbsp of salt instead of the recommended 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Best BBQ chicken I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was AWESOME!!! We put it on chicken legs and theighs for the 4th of July and didn't have any left. I did however leave out the cayenne pepper to make it more kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this rub and used it with some NY steaks. It was very good. The only thing I would modify is the amount of cayenne. I would half the cayenne so that I could taste the meat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States