Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this a while ago for pork chops, and we thought it was good...then my husband used it on the turkey he grilled yesterday for Thanksgiving, and it was awesome! He rubbed it all over the turkey and sprinkled it inside the cavity. The turkey meat was outstanding, and it seems to be even tastier today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
We weren't all thrilled with this as the spices seemed a bit bland together and didn't do much to enhance the flavor of the meat. Gave it a few tries on different cuts of meat. Sadly I made too much of it so I'm using it in other capacities combined with other recipes. Not a completely horrible rub, otherwise I would have thrown it out, but just bland compared to others we've used. Using it with other recipes we already have for a bit more of a kick. I haven't noticed much of a difference in using this rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
wow, this recipe makes a LOT!! My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe. We added about 3 tbsp of brown sugar as well. Like the other recipes said, this is a RUB, and a little goes a long way. It was very good and we will definetly use it again (especially since we have so much left over) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberrygashes23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Good, but not great. I halved the recipe to try out of a few different pieces of meat. I only used 1 tablespoon of black pepper and 1 tablespoon of cayenne (kids). I used about 3 tablespoon on a pork butt cooked on low in the crock pot for 9 hours and it really added nice flavor. I also tried this on chicken tenders on the grill, not happy with the flavor on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I used this recipe again for the second time with the same changes ( 3/4 T cayenne 1/4 c brown sugar, an 1T thyme ) an it was fantastic. i cut up a fryer chicken an rubed this all over the pieces an under the skin then put little slabs of butter under an on top of the skin an broiled it. It was FANTASTIC!! Also about half way through i melted a little more butter an mixed in a little seasoning ( thanks to a friends suggestion ) an brushed it ove the chicken pieces. Yummy! Would suggest that the cayenne be decreased even more though if you have little ones. I had to make sure to give my 16 month old pieces that had no seasoning directly on them, cause it still had a kick to it. Thanks for the great recipe this will be used more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Nace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntley, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Easy and wonderful if you don't make the mistake I did. RUB means use very little and really rub it in hard. Not smash each side of the meat down into a bowl of the stuff! LOL a learning experience for me. It was wonderful when used correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Tried this on ribs and it gave them a lovely color and flavor. I can't wait to try it on something else. Thanks for an easy, sugar-free rub. ** We used this on a whole turkey that we roasted this weekend. OMG was it good! Can't wait to show it off on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I thought the flavor was very nice. But Way too salty! Next time I might skip the salt all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Very good rub. I have used it many times. You can increase the cayanne pepper to kick the heat up a bit. Easy rub recipe to adjust to your personal taste too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Awesome!! A perfect blend of flavours with a bit of a spicy kick but not overwhelming. Great with ribs rubbed with this spice blend, refrigeragted overnight and slow cooked, covered and standing on end (so juice runs off) in a 200 degree oven for 5-6 hours and then finished off on the Bar-B-Que grill with your favourite bar-b-que sauce. Perfect with Danish baby back ribs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States