Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
The sauce is great - make it! Because of other reviews of the fish I changed the cooking method and had great success. I used the same seasonings but pan fried the Tilapia filets in a little butter and olive oil. I used medium high heat to get crispy edges. I sprinkled lemon juice over the top - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I loved the dill sacue for this recipe. The fish itself was ok, and it would have gotten less stars had it not been for the dill sauce. It was great, and I only made 2 fish fillets but kept the dill sauce the same so I could use it on my steamed asparagus. It tasted great on both the fish and asparagus. I used plain fat-free yogurt instead of sour cream, and light mayo. That way I could feel better about eating so much of it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This was pretty good. I realized as I was prepping that I was out of cajun seasoning, so I just used a little garlic powder and crushed red pepper. I am also wary of drying the fish out, as has happened to me too often, so I put a little butter on before seasoning. Made the sauce exactly as the recipe calls for. I found it to be just a little tart, but the family seemed to like it. (I tend not to put lemon on my fish, so I'm probably biased) Was very easy, so I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This would have been just another fish recipe if not for the sauce; serving the two together exceeded any expectations I might have had. The only helpful hint I would even dare to suggest would be to make the sauce the day before to allow the flavors to marry and to serve at room temparture. Outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POOKY1969
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Excellent recipe! Loved the dill sauce! I did add a bit more garlic powder than called for, I used about 1/4 tsp. instead of 1/8 tsp. I didn't have fresh dill so I used 1 Tsp. dry dill instead. I also used Old Bay seasoning instead of Cajun seasoning on the fish. Make the dill sauce ahead of time to let the flavors marry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKY1969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I love this recipe just for the sauce! I use whatever fish (mahi, salmon, etc) I have on hand, and I don't season the fish. I sub low-fat plain yogurt for the mayo & sour cream, and I add WAY more fresh lemon juice & 1/2 tsp of sugar. It is fab and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Every now and then I come across a recipe that far exceeded my expectations and this was one of them. Whoa, was this good! We blackened the tilapia with the Cajun seasoning in a cast iron skillet on the charcoal grill, something we always enjoy. The dill sauce (which I served at room temperature), while very good, was nothing unique or special on its own. But put the two together and you've got something extraordinary! The spice of the seasoned fish tempered and mellowed by the creamy sauce was a sensational combination! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This recipe is really good! The only thing I didn't like was that the sauce was cold and made the fish cool down really quick. So next time I will heat up the sauce as well. Very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Texas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I just cooked the fish with salt and pepper and then served it with the dill sauce. Awesome sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
this was really good and so easy! i made it without lemon slices ... just added a little lemon juice to the tilapia before baking. my husband liked it a lot too. will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States