Huckleberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I am blessed to be in Huckleberry country this summer & my husband, dog, & I went hiking on the Mtn & found big patches of them. Found this recipe & tried it. I couldn't find my muffin pan so I put in a 9x12 pan & doubled the Huckleberries, made a 1/2 C flour, 1/4 C sugar, & 2 tbs of butter streusel topping & baked for 10 min longer (testing with toothpick). Well, we loved it so much that we are going to hike (pick) the Mtn again! This is a keeper. I know raspberries (since Hucklberries are way more flavorful than blueberries) will be as good in this. Thnx for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
The batter is so-o-o-o sweet! I live in Denver (high altitude) so I added at least 2 extra Tablespoons of flour...it wasn't enough. In addition to the extra flour, I think I would use a little less milk and a little less baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Good base recipe, but WAY too sweet. Huckleberries have more complex flavor when they're not dulled by sugar. I'd cut the sugar in half and probably add a tsp. of lemon zest to this. But the muffin base is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
So moist and delicious! Only thing I did different was use margarine instead of butter, because it was what I had. I made them once using raspberries (did not have huckleberries), second time with raspberries and dark chocolate chips (reduced sugar to 1/2 cup), and a third time with raspberries and white chocolate chips (reduced sugar to 1/2 cup). Awesome every time! It is now my base muffin recipe...will try blueberries in them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I was looking for a generic muffin recipe to add dried cranberries to this morning, since that is what I had on hand. None of the cranberry muffin recipes had very good reviews, so I thought I'd try this one. They were delicious! The only thing I changed about this recipe was I used dried cranberries instead of huckleberries. (it's January in the midwest, so no huckleberries are to be found) Since I used dried cranberries instead of fresh berries, I did not coat them in flour. I had to add about 2-3 minutes to the baking time for them to be done, but I think my oven isn't 100% accurate. (or so my husband says). My 3 year old ate 2 after having a bowl of cereal! They didn't even need butter or anything on them, they were so moist! I've saved this to my recipe box to use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I had some of these in my yard and I didn't know what to do with them. These came out really good. Frooze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOOMUCHWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Because I did not have a muffin pan, I made it as a cake . It did take longer to cook, but was super good and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosesplash
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Great recipe! I replace with whole wheat flour (the texture is so much better this way!), and I cook for 18 minutes instead of the suggested 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made this recipe for a work potluck using raspberries instead of huckleberries. The were tender and lovely with a burst of tart raspberry. I followed the recipe (except for the fruit) and I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I thought it was a good recipe, but it is hard to make in larger muffin cups because it seems the center takes longer to get done. However, once you get the center done all the way, they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albany, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States