Huckleberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
My family uses a similar recipe. We mix the berries right in the batter, and after it cools from the oven, we top with powdered sugar. It's good for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Delicious recipe! Careful when pouring huckleberry mixture into pastry mixture on bottom...pour slow and evenly over the pastry, otherwise the middle is very runny and messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is my favorite way to bake with huckleberries! The first time I used this recipe I was short on berries. I chopped up some Fuji apples to make up for the missing huckleberries, and it was delicious! I have found that I need to cook the cobbler 5 - 10 minutes longer than the suggested bake time in order to fully cook the center so it's not doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This was really easy and good! I didn't put quite all the juice on when I was scooping the huckleberry, water, sugar mixture on top of the crust. I just drained the berries out at the end w/ a slotted spoon after I figured there was enough juice on the crust. We served vanilla ice-cream on top of warmed huckleberry buckle and was really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Made a double batch using 1/2 fresh huckleberries and 1/2 fresh raspberries. Baked in a 9 x 13 x 2-inch glass pan for 55 minutes. Excellent taste and consistency. This would be good with most any berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Yum! This turned out very nicely- I used blueberries instead of huckleberries, and I drained the excess water from the blueberry mixture before pouring over the batter...it was lovely. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I went a step further and put a "crisp" topping on it, i.e., equal parts of oatmeal, flour and brown sugar with a dash each of baking powder and baking soda and melted butter. I added a little cinnamon to the berries and decreased the sugar a little. What a dynamic duo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARANNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was an awesome recipe! I took the advice of another reviewer and strained the berries before putting them on the batter. SO GOOD! The batter ended up being a cake-like consistency, which I didn't expect, but it was perfect. My boyfriend and I ate almost the whole pan right out of the oven. Make two, they'll go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I was looking for a basic cobbler recipe to use up the wild raspberries and blackberries that grow on my property. I used a mix of berries, but didn't make any other changes to the recipe and it was amazing. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. It tasted like huckleberry pancakes. I thought it would be too sweet but it wasn't. I will make again for sure. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States