Huckleberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Yum...this was good we pick fresh huckleberries in our area every summer and I usually just make pies and freezer jam but this was a nice change and it was good served still a little warm with vanilla ice cream. Even my picky 8 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madras, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was an awesome recipe! I took the advice of another reviewer and strained the berries before putting them on the batter. SO GOOD! The batter ended up being a cake-like consistency, which I didn't expect, but it was perfect. My boyfriend and I ate almost the whole pan right out of the oven. Make two, they'll go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
My family uses a similar recipe. We mix the berries right in the batter, and after it cools from the oven, we top with powdered sugar. It's good for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is my favorite way to bake with huckleberries! The first time I used this recipe I was short on berries. I chopped up some Fuji apples to make up for the missing huckleberries, and it was delicious! I have found that I need to cook the cobbler 5 - 10 minutes longer than the suggested bake time in order to fully cook the center so it's not doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Yum! This turned out very nicely- I used blueberries instead of huckleberries, and I drained the excess water from the blueberry mixture before pouring over the batter...it was lovely. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was very yummy! I used whole wheat flour because that is all I had, and it was still really good. It's the best warm with icecream for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaresMama
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!!! This is my ALL TIME FAVE Huckleberry recipe. I have to share this with everyone I know that loves huckleberries! We ate it a'la mode and it was just fabulous! Thanks for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I used fresh blueberries and added the crisp topping someone suggested. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as given. I thought it was just OK. The flavor was so-so, but not the texture. It seemed a little gooey to me. I could see how some people may like it, but I much prefer a good southern cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I've been on a "cobbler kick" for a few months now and have tried about 10 recipes from this site. This is my favorite one so far. I don't use huckleberries, though. I've been using a frozen fruit salad mix (peaches, pineapple, honeydew melon, strawberries) which I toss with just a little sugar and 1 tbsp of cornstarch (no boiling water or butter). Increase baking time to 60-65 minutes. Come summer, I'll try this recipe using a variety of fresh fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I went a step further and put a "crisp" topping on it, i.e., equal parts of oatmeal, flour and brown sugar with a dash each of baking powder and baking soda and melted butter. I added a little cinnamon to the berries and decreased the sugar a little. What a dynamic duo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARANNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States