Huckleberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I tried this the other night when my 11 year old picked a bunch of red huckleberries! This is such a great recipe. I have no complaints and wouldn't change a thing... I will definitely be using this for other types of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonjjn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Would have gotten 5 stars but for the fact that it was a hair too sweet for me. Next time I will try only a 1/2 cup of sugar in the berry mix. Delicious flavor, though, and nice texture. I made it with fresh blueberries in a 9x13 pan... it cooked for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JETS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Very rich and sweet. Will be tweaking to our tastes for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was awesome! I just tried it out on my parents tonight as an experiment before taking one to a church function. My dad finished his, asked if there was any more left, then said he wanted to experiment some more. I used blueberries because we don't have huckleberries around here, and it took only 40 minutes. Otherwise, I followed the instructions to a T. I have a feeling I'll be in the kitchen again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
WOW. This recipe is not only super easy, but it's also one of the tastiest "buckles" I've ever had. My daughter, who is not a big blueberry/huckleberry fan, asked for seconds. The only thing I tweaked was to add about a teaspoon of lemon juice to the berry mixture. It was fantastic and we'll definitely make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I had a bunch of red huckleberries growing in the yard and wanted a recipe that I could use them in. Though this one is designed with a darker huckleberry in mind I added a little lemon juice and zest to the huckleberry mixture before adding it to the pan. I also used the oatmeal/flour/brown sugar topping suggested by another reviewer which made it delicious from top to bottom. Once I took the buckle out of the oven I garnished it again lightly with brown sugar and lemon juice and then I served it a la mode with a little more lemon zest, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is a FANTASTIC dessert, and insanely easy to prepare. A couple of the changes I made to the dessert was instead of using huckleberries I used a frozen mixed berry blend. As well, the topping I changed up only because I had read a review that suggested making a crumble like topping. So I mixed brown sugar, butter, cinnamon and oats together and sprinkled it over top. I highly reccomend doing this because I'm sitting here waiting for round two of this dish in one week to be done in the oven! Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madison Ayla

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Very sweet. Flavor is good. I can see this recipe working with nearly any berry. It can't get much easier than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was fabulously easy...few ingredients, easy to assemble, and a delicious warm desert with whipped cream or Cool Whip. My family liked this so much I made it two nights in a row...1st night Blackberries, 2nd night Peaches...whatever I have for frozen fruit during the winter months will go into this buckle! The kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States