Huckleberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
WOW. This recipe is not only super easy, but it's also one of the tastiest "buckles" I've ever had. My daughter, who is not a big blueberry/huckleberry fan, asked for seconds. The only thing I tweaked was to add about a teaspoon of lemon juice to the berry mixture. It was fantastic and we'll definitely make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I had a bunch of red huckleberries growing in the yard and wanted a recipe that I could use them in. Though this one is designed with a darker huckleberry in mind I added a little lemon juice and zest to the huckleberry mixture before adding it to the pan. I also used the oatmeal/flour/brown sugar topping suggested by another reviewer which made it delicious from top to bottom. Once I took the buckle out of the oven I garnished it again lightly with brown sugar and lemon juice and then I served it a la mode with a little more lemon zest, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is a FANTASTIC dessert, and insanely easy to prepare. A couple of the changes I made to the dessert was instead of using huckleberries I used a frozen mixed berry blend. As well, the topping I changed up only because I had read a review that suggested making a crumble like topping. So I mixed brown sugar, butter, cinnamon and oats together and sprinkled it over top. I highly reccomend doing this because I'm sitting here waiting for round two of this dish in one week to be done in the oven! Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maywash

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Very sweet. Flavor is good. I can see this recipe working with nearly any berry. It can't get much easier than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was fabulously easy...few ingredients, easy to assemble, and a delicious warm desert with whipped cream or Cool Whip. My family liked this so much I made it two nights in a row...1st night Blackberries, 2nd night Peaches...whatever I have for frozen fruit during the winter months will go into this buckle! The kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
grat with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d3rbyg1rl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Yields great results! My family really enjoyed this dish! I used a slightly smaller dish, 8 in, as it was all i had on hand at the time but it worked fine! I didn't have any issues with it bubbling over. I was a little hesitant to try this since we spent so long picking our huckleberries and I had never tired this before but it was more than worth it! It turned out great and everyone really enjoyed it! One thing that I did add was a little cinnamon to both the flour and berry parts. Overall great recipe! Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyssat83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I had been given a recipe very similar to this one by my husband's aunt when I got married 30 years ago. It was a staple in our house and I made it with all sorts of berries, peaches, even apples. I lost the recipe a few years ago and have been searching for it and here it is! I knew as soon as I saw boiling water on the ingredient list that this was it! One thing I do to make it a bit easier is to just layer the fruit on top of the batter, followed by the sugar and pour the water over top. Like another reviewer suggested, keep a cookie sheet under the pan, it usually bubbles over. This is one oof my favorite recipes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joseph, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lyons, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States