Huckleberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I went a step further and put a "crisp" topping on it, i.e., equal parts of oatmeal, flour and brown sugar with a dash each of baking powder and baking soda and melted butter. I added a little cinnamon to the berries and decreased the sugar a little. What a dynamic duo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARANNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Delicious recipe! Careful when pouring huckleberry mixture into pastry mixture on bottom...pour slow and evenly over the pastry, otherwise the middle is very runny and messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is my favorite way to bake with huckleberries! The first time I used this recipe I was short on berries. I chopped up some Fuji apples to make up for the missing huckleberries, and it was delicious! I have found that I need to cook the cobbler 5 - 10 minutes longer than the suggested bake time in order to fully cook the center so it's not doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I had been given a recipe very similar to this one by my husband's aunt when I got married 30 years ago. It was a staple in our house and I made it with all sorts of berries, peaches, even apples. I lost the recipe a few years ago and have been searching for it and here it is! I knew as soon as I saw boiling water on the ingredient list that this was it! One thing I do to make it a bit easier is to just layer the fruit on top of the batter, followed by the sugar and pour the water over top. Like another reviewer suggested, keep a cookie sheet under the pan, it usually bubbles over. This is one oof my favorite recipes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joseph, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lyons, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This is a super yummy way to use up all those blackberries growing in my yard. One word of advise- the berry mixture has a tendency to bubble up out of the pan so it helps to put a baking sheet underneath to make cleanup a little easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was an awesome recipe! I took the advice of another reviewer and strained the berries before putting them on the batter. SO GOOD! The batter ended up being a cake-like consistency, which I didn't expect, but it was perfect. My boyfriend and I ate almost the whole pan right out of the oven. Make two, they'll go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaresMama
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!!! This is my ALL TIME FAVE Huckleberry recipe. I have to share this with everyone I know that loves huckleberries! We ate it a'la mode and it was just fabulous! Thanks for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This was really easy and good! I didn't put quite all the juice on when I was scooping the huckleberry, water, sugar mixture on top of the crust. I just drained the berries out at the end w/ a slotted spoon after I figured there was enough juice on the crust. We served vanilla ice-cream on top of warmed huckleberry buckle and was really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I've been on a "cobbler kick" for a few months now and have tried about 10 recipes from this site. This is my favorite one so far. I don't use huckleberries, though. I've been using a frozen fruit salad mix (peaches, pineapple, honeydew melon, strawberries) which I toss with just a little sugar and 1 tbsp of cornstarch (no boiling water or butter). Increase baking time to 60-65 minutes. Come summer, I'll try this recipe using a variety of fresh fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
My family uses a similar recipe. We mix the berries right in the batter, and after it cools from the oven, we top with powdered sugar. It's good for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States