Huckleberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was an awesome recipe! I took the advice of another reviewer and strained the berries before putting them on the batter. SO GOOD! The batter ended up being a cake-like consistency, which I didn't expect, but it was perfect. My boyfriend and I ate almost the whole pan right out of the oven. Make two, they'll go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
My family uses a similar recipe. We mix the berries right in the batter, and after it cools from the oven, we top with powdered sugar. It's good for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is my favorite way to bake with huckleberries! The first time I used this recipe I was short on berries. I chopped up some Fuji apples to make up for the missing huckleberries, and it was delicious! I have found that I need to cook the cobbler 5 - 10 minutes longer than the suggested bake time in order to fully cook the center so it's not doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Yum! This turned out very nicely- I used blueberries instead of huckleberries, and I drained the excess water from the blueberry mixture before pouring over the batter...it was lovely. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was very yummy! I used whole wheat flour because that is all I had, and it was still really good. It's the best warm with icecream for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaresMama
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!!! This is my ALL TIME FAVE Huckleberry recipe. I have to share this with everyone I know that loves huckleberries! We ate it a'la mode and it was just fabulous! Thanks for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I used fresh blueberries and added the crisp topping someone suggested. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as given. I thought it was just OK. The flavor was so-so, but not the texture. It seemed a little gooey to me. I could see how some people may like it, but I much prefer a good southern cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I've been on a "cobbler kick" for a few months now and have tried about 10 recipes from this site. This is my favorite one so far. I don't use huckleberries, though. I've been using a frozen fruit salad mix (peaches, pineapple, honeydew melon, strawberries) which I toss with just a little sugar and 1 tbsp of cornstarch (no boiling water or butter). Increase baking time to 60-65 minutes. Come summer, I'll try this recipe using a variety of fresh fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I went a step further and put a "crisp" topping on it, i.e., equal parts of oatmeal, flour and brown sugar with a dash each of baking powder and baking soda and melted butter. I added a little cinnamon to the berries and decreased the sugar a little. What a dynamic duo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARANNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This was really easy and good! I didn't put quite all the juice on when I was scooping the huckleberry, water, sugar mixture on top of the crust. I just drained the berries out at the end w/ a slotted spoon after I figured there was enough juice on the crust. We served vanilla ice-cream on top of warmed huckleberry buckle and was really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States