Huckleberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Simple & delicious. I substituted frozen mixed berries and mixed them with only 1/2 cup of sugar. It was still sweet and tasty. I have since made this with a few different fruits apples, peaches, pears as it is always a hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Needs something, but I'm not sure what. I might have to tinker with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Super easy with minimal ingredients and super delicious. I have baked quite a variety of cakes/pies using huckleberries before and this one is the easiest and most delicious. Having the berries on top Really brings out the flavor of the huckleberry rather than having it on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
i just made this but i used blackberries, they dont have huckleberries in northern california, it looks just like the pictures an smells so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I tried this the other night when my 11 year old picked a bunch of red huckleberries! This is such a great recipe. I have no complaints and wouldn't change a thing... I will definitely be using this for other types of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonjjn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Would have gotten 5 stars but for the fact that it was a hair too sweet for me. Next time I will try only a 1/2 cup of sugar in the berry mix. Delicious flavor, though, and nice texture. I made it with fresh blueberries in a 9x13 pan... it cooked for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JETS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Very rich and sweet. Will be tweaking to our tastes for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was awesome! I just tried it out on my parents tonight as an experiment before taking one to a church function. My dad finished his, asked if there was any more left, then said he wanted to experiment some more. I used blueberries because we don't have huckleberries around here, and it took only 40 minutes. Otherwise, I followed the instructions to a T. I have a feeling I'll be in the kitchen again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
WOW. This recipe is not only super easy, but it's also one of the tastiest "buckles" I've ever had. My daughter, who is not a big blueberry/huckleberry fan, asked for seconds. The only thing I tweaked was to add about a teaspoon of lemon juice to the berry mixture. It was fantastic and we'll definitely make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I had a bunch of red huckleberries growing in the yard and wanted a recipe that I could use them in. Though this one is designed with a darker huckleberry in mind I added a little lemon juice and zest to the huckleberry mixture before adding it to the pan. I also used the oatmeal/flour/brown sugar topping suggested by another reviewer which made it delicious from top to bottom. Once I took the buckle out of the oven I garnished it again lightly with brown sugar and lemon juice and then I served it a la mode with a little more lemon zest, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States