Huckleberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is really a great recipe for huckleberries and if you top it with ice cream, that makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Delicious and so so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Made this for company yesterday with blueberries. It was fantastic. I doubled it for a 13x9x2 pan and added the crispy crumble on top as suggested by other readers. I didn't have whipped cream or ice cream to top it off, but as it turned out, this buckle did not need it. This is a stunning dessert. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this recipe with raspberries. I also doubled it & used a 9" x 13" pan. It turns out great! After mixing the boiling water to the berries, I drained the berries before placing them atop the batter. This recipe is a keeper in our house.We brought it to church, everyone loved it! There wasn't a morsel left. Next time I'm adding vanilla extract to the batter. The cake was nice & light... I sprinkled sugar atop after it came out of the oven...Yummy (I noticed a lot of people thought it was too sweet, but since I was using raspberries I didn't adjust the sugar, other than doubling the entire recipe.) -Cynthia (Bakersgirl0506)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Push, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
A bit too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Simple & delicious. I substituted frozen mixed berries and mixed them with only 1/2 cup of sugar. It was still sweet and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Needs something, but I'm not sure what. I might have to tinker with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Super easy with minimal ingredients and super delicious. I have baked quite a variety of cakes/pies using huckleberries before and this one is the easiest and most delicious. Having the berries on top Really brings out the flavor of the huckleberry rather than having it on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
i just made this but i used blackberries, they dont have huckleberries in northern california, it looks just like the pictures an smells so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States