Hubby's Pizza Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I didn't read many reviews before I tried this recipe. Like others before me, I was very surprised to see the pepperoni was pulverized and ground. By the pictures, I was expecting a stromboli type of bread with large chucks or pockets of meats. It was not what I was expecting by the pictures so I am only giving it two stars. The taste was okay, but I think I will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I only have a 1lb machine, so i halfed the recipe. Very good bread although mine looked nothing like the picture. Like another person said the pepperoni became small bits. Next time I'll add it later in the cycle not at the begining as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
We did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I put this recipe in my breadmaker's dough cycle. Split up and rolled with 4 cheese, butter and garlic, and pepperoni slices, and then baked. Didn't last ten minutes after I pulled out. On my way back to the grocery store to pick up some more pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGJ1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Fresnos, Texas, USA
Living In: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
terrible consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
No taste. If you follow the recipe as instructed the pepperoni vanishes as though it's not there. I would suggest adding more italian spices and perhaps crushed red pepper flakes and definitely wait to add the pepperoni in the last kneading cycle so there will be some bits there to taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinaat1013

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by sylviamaya
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Super with marinara sauce and could very well be served as an appetizer! I followed the advice given by inounvme and let the bread maker do all the kneading for me; however I did add the cheddar cheese before hand to add some extra flavor. I rolled it out, sprinkled a light layer of garlic salt, laid on a good layer of pepperoni and mozzarella, rolled it up and let it sit in a bread pan an hour. Then I baked it in the oven for 20-30 minutes on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sylviamaya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is good. I tried to add the pepperoni and cheese at the last knead, but think I put in to soon. I wanted bigger chunks of pepperoni. The family loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Okay why didn't someone suggest making more than one loaf? LOL This went fast!! I read the other suggestions by using the bread maker through the 2nd rise. After the 2nd rise I rolled out the dough into a rectangle sprinkled the cheese and pepperoni ( I only needed 8oz could not imagine 16), then rolled the dough up pinching the ends under. The dough was then placed in a lighty greased 9x5 loaf pan to rise again (45 min). This bread was baked for 15 minutes at 350, I then took the bread out and topped it with a little cheese and pepperoni for decoration. Placed the bread back in the oven for approximately 7 minutes. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was a huge hit at our house! I followed Shezzza's lead and made my bread by hand, rolling the pepperoni up in the dough. I proofed the yeast with the milk, then added to the flour, salt, sugar, parmesan, and mozzarella cheese (subbed for the cheddar). I kneaded the dough and drizzled the 1 1/2 tbsp of butter to coat. I let rise for one hour, punched the dough down and then let it rise for another hour. After the second rise, I turned the dough out on a floured surface and rolled out. I melted another tbsp of butter and smeared it on my dough, then generously sprinkled the dough with garlic powder and oregano. I coated the dough with pepperoni, and then rolled shut and placed in a bread pan. I smothered the roll with more cheese and topped with even more pepperoni. Baked at 350 for 35 minutes, removed from oven and let cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan. My husband and I both loved this pizza bread! The dough was very easy to work with and stayed light and fluffy after baking. Paired with some sauce for dipping, this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States