Howler Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is a good recipe for cookies full of flavor (and not chocolate!). I decreased the white sugar to 3/4 cup, put in 1-1/2 tsp vanilla and used self-rising flour. I also lined the cookie sheets with foil, rather than greasing them (I felt the cookies had enough butter in them to prevent sticking), which worked like a charm. This recipe made about 40 cookies for me, but I used a heaping teaspoon of dough for each cookie. The dough was not the least bit dry, perhaps because I used an extra large egg with just the smallest bit of extra vanilla. A good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOJAGRAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
The only bad thing about these cookies is that I don't feel guilty about eating them, so it's hard to stop! They're wonderful high-fiber cookies that make a good afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Very easy to make and came out great. They're not overly sweet and have a very good taste and texture. The recipe says it makes 3 dozen, but I ended up with 5 dozen, and that's a good thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This is a great cookie...it has the perfect crunch as well as a wonderful melt-in-your-mouth effect. I used just a little less pecans and it was great. I also got a higher yield than what the recipe says. Don't leave out the coconut even if you're not sure if you'd like it; it's not overwhelming but I think it adds a lot to the cookie. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
I needed my child to eat more fiber and I've been fighting with her constantly over this. I made these cookies for her and she never suspected my intention. They're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
I do a lot of baking, and I have to say that this is one of the best cookie recipes I have ever tried! Very chewy and moist with lots of coconut flavour. I substituted raisins for the nuts, and it turned out great. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2000
I followed the recipe and ended up with a thin mess. There was nothing dry about the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
This recipe is wonderful. I made two batches to take on a road trip to my in-laws' house. It took two days to get there and unfortunately the cookies didn't quite make it to the end of the trip. My husband could not keep his hands out of the cookie bags. Fortunately the in-laws were not expecting the cookies, so they never knew what they missed. Thanks for the recipe Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States