How to Make Perfect Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Thanksssss!!!!!! I came from Argentina and polenta is really big , but you make it from an instant packet. Here I only can find it in the latin store and is very expensive. This is a great way of making polenta really chip. I found that using corn meal from the package doesn't come very tasty, I have a blender that I put corn for popcorn and makes it into corn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Chef John you've done it again....this was perfect as promised. I was looking for a polenta recipe that didn't call for milk or cream and this was it! Followed the recipe exactly with grits (it's all I had on hand) except that I put in the grits into cold water to avoid lumps. Perfect side for meat! And the leftovers.....glorious when fried on both sides, then covered with spaghetti sauce, cheese, artichokes, roasted red peppers - whatever you have in your fridge. I might start making polenta just for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was great! My picky preteen enjoyed it. He grunted and when done, went to the kitchen to put more in his bowl. I had powdered bouillon that I added to the water and it came out so very flavorful. I topped this with roasted peppers, asparagus, meatballs and grated Parmesan cheese. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I've made this twice now. My toddler LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Used this recipe, and topped with Italian sausage and red sauce, very good, just like mom's. P.S. "fun girl" :D it's Italian all right, but the f-word.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Excellent! So easy to make. I learned you don't have to spend the whole cooking time stirring the pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTRICIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was really good and quite easy. It cooked up a lot quicker for me, I have a flat top stove so I probably needed to have it set on a lower setting, I'll remember that next time. Still it came out so smooth and tasty! And easier than I imagined, I've never even had polenta until recently, so I'm really glad to have a new option to serve with meals. I also watched the video so that made me feel a lot more confident to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
made polenta for the first time, but substituted 2 cups water to milk, turned out really nice. I should say be careful with salt, as the cheese also adds it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiternik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Never made it before, but tried it with Chef John's Pork al Latte. It was outstanding! My husband usually complains about my cooking, but loved this. I made it with leftover turkey stock from Thanksgiving as my liquid. Next time I might try the vegetarian option and just use water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Bear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Watching the video really helped! This was my first time making polenta, but most certainly won't be the last. Thick, creamy, smooth, warm, cheesy, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States