How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Perfect every time! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I just wasted 6 eggs and disappointed my son. The shell stuck to the whites and the yolk was not fully cooked. Thanks bunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This recipe is a little iffy to me. I boil water then prime my eggs with hot tap water before adding them to the boiling water so they don't crack open from temperature change. Then boil for 10-12 minutes. Pour out the boiling water and rinse in cold water. This always works for me and I am happy with it. If I don't prime the eggs sure enough one will crack open; that always seems happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
My eggs came out very undercooked and in a poached consistency. Will try again, but will leave simmer a few minutes longer, and maybe let set for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Didn't work. Guess I'll make egg salad and try some other way to do it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Ugh! This recipe fails sometimes and sometimes not. I'm really at a loss here to explain why it works sometimes and sometimes not. Any ideas out there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly to make Easter eggs. The eggs couldn't be peeled. A layer of white stuck to the shell of every egg. I had to use a knife to remove the eggs and still lost a lot of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This recipe completely failed me. I followed the video exactly. When I cracked one open this morning for breakfast, it collapsed in a puddle. So disappointed, because that means I have five more failures in the fridge at home! UPDATE: The third time I made this recipe was a charm! Turned out, my eggs were not dancing violently enough before I turned off the heat per Chef John's suggestion in the video. One person's simmer is another person's boil, apparently. I suggest to others who had my same initial outcome (sad eggs) to try this recipe again and do not shut off the heat until you think you've reached a boil, as I bet we share the same misconception of what "simmer" means. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparkler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
For those who've had trouble with the white sticking to the shell, the problem is not with the recipe...it's that the eggs are too fresh! You should buy your eggs about a week ahead of the time you want to boil them, and let them sit in the refrigerator (do check the date on the eggs to make sure they will still be fresh enough to cook). The longer the eggs sit in the fridge, the easier they will be to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Worked for me! But some of my eggs were hard to peel... Could be the recipe or the age of the eggs? I may try the other recipe that does ice water then boiling again then ice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States