How to Make Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and these are probably the best and simplest biscuits I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have made this recipe about 10 times in the last few months. We like this as much as my home made bread. But, this is a lot faster. The temperature of 500 degrees is correct. The aluminum foil keeps the biscuits from burning. But - get the biscuits off the hot cookie sheet ASAP after brushing with butter. Put them on a cooling rack to finish cool. These taste great for 2 - 3 days after cooking. The melted butter added before cooking adds flavor. The melted butter after cooking produces a nicely browned look. Flipping over the ends and re-rolling produces a layered flaky biscuit - easy to spread jam on or eat without any toppings. I do not have a round cutter. So I cut these into squares or rectangles. The taste is the same and it cuts down on the preparation time. The recipe can be doubled or quadrupled without any changes (except sometimes adding a little more fluid) The recipe can be made with a combination of 1/3rd milk and 2/3rds cream. Just make sure you brush the biscuits with butter before cooking and the taste and texture is almost the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These are absolutely amazing! So much quicker and easier than the biscuits I usually make, you know, where everything has to be super cold and all that. This is so much easier, and the end result is fantastic. I didn't have any problems with the dough being too "soupy" or too sticky, as some of the other comments said. I was surprised at how wonderful this dough was to work with. Just one thing, they are kinda sweet, which is delicious, but depending on what you're planning on doing with the biscuits, you may want to cut back a bit on the sugar. After dinner, we were all standing around the stove, munching on the leftover biscuits, straight from the baking sheet. Yum! Oh, I did change the oven temperature, simply because 500 made me nervous. I baked them at 450, and they came out perfectly. But that was just me being chicken. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
5 Star, these biscuits are wonderful. Their very easy to make and are light and fluffy. My husband raved over them. I didn't have self-rising flour, but looked it up in AllRecipies and made my own, which was very simple. Again these biscuits are FABULOUS once you try them you will never go back to whatever recipe you were using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
WOW!!! Followed this recipe to a T. Oven temp of 500 degrees is right on BTW. Biscuits were beautiful, delicate, simply delicious!!! Instead of running out to the store for can biscuits, I will run to the store for the heavy whipping cream! They are so simple and quick to make. Keep the easy and delicious recipes coming Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
SO easy (my 3 yr old helped make them) and the flavor is wonderful! I used parchment paper instead of foil for lining my pan and the bottoms came out lightly golden. Just perfect! Followed the recipe to a tee, except I had to make my own self-rising flour since I didn't have any on hand, by adding 1 teaspoon of salt and 3 teaspoons of baking powder to he 2 cups of all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
These are one of the best and easiest biscuit recipes that I have ever made or eaten! Do keep an eye on them in the oven b/c after 9-1/2 minutes, my bottoms were just on the verge of burnt (my oven temp is spot on too), so I'm thinking maybe it had something to do with using foil? Other than that, these are fantastic! So flavorful, tender and moist. I WILL be making these often, but reducing the cooking time accordingly~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Easy & delicious. Didn't use butter this time since I used them under sausage gravy. Will definitely make again! I baked at about 375 for 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Like others, my dough was way too sticky so I added more flour. Next time, I will start with only 3/4 cup of cream and add more if I need it. I did use regular flour and added in 3/4 T of baking powder so that might have made the difference. I will try self rising next time just to see if there is a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
i followed recipe to a tee but like another reviewer I ended up with a soupy mess.was able to add more flour and they turned out beautiful and delicious.will try again.could it have been that I had to make my own self rising flour using chef johs recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States