How to Make Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I put it in 500 degrees and 8 minutes later smoke filled the room. I tried this recipe because I don't have any buttermilk in my house. Very tasty when I used it for my pigs in a blanket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and these are probably the best and simplest biscuits I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
WOW!!! Followed this recipe to a T. Oven temp of 500 degrees is right on BTW. Biscuits were beautiful, delicate, simply delicious!!! Instead of running out to the store for can biscuits, I will run to the store for the heavy whipping cream! They are so simple and quick to make. Keep the easy and delicious recipes coming Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
These are one of the best and easiest biscuit recipes that I have ever made or eaten! Do keep an eye on them in the oven b/c after 9-1/2 minutes, my bottoms were just on the verge of burnt (my oven temp is spot on too), so I'm thinking maybe it had something to do with using foil? Other than that, these are fantastic! So flavorful, tender and moist. I WILL be making these often, but reducing the cooking time accordingly~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Easy & delicious. Didn't use butter this time since I used them under sausage gravy. Will definitely make again! I baked at about 375 for 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Proportions were off for me. I ended up with a soupy mess. I added another half cup of flour, then just gave up and poured what I had into a pan and baked it as a cake instead of trying to shape the mess into biscuits. Luckily I timed it low, because at 8 minutes it was already browning, and the bottom browned enough to separate from the rest. Problems aside, I liked the soft and light texture of the end result. I also liked the 2 ingredients and under 15 minutes. It was tasty with some butter and sugar cane syrup. I'll try it again with adjusted measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
i followed recipe to a tee but like another reviewer I ended up with a soupy mess.was able to add more flour and they turned out beautiful and delicious.will try again.could it have been that I had to make my own self rising flour using chef johs recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Like others, my dough was way too sticky so I added more flour. Next time, I will start with only 3/4 cup of cream and add more if I need it. I did use regular flour and added in 3/4 T of baking powder so that might have made the difference. I will try self rising next time just to see if there is a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very quick and easy. Can make using your own self-rising flour. I add 1/2 tsp of baking soda and 1/2 tsp of cream of tartar. Just fits into my toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have made this recipe about 10 times in the last few months. We like this as much as my home made bread. But, this is a lot faster. The temperature of 500 degrees is correct. The aluminum foil keeps the biscuits from burning. But - get the biscuits off the hot cookie sheet ASAP after brushing with butter. Put them on a cooling rack to finish cool. These taste great for 2 - 3 days after cooking. The melted butter added before cooking adds flavor. The melted butter after cooking produces a nicely browned look. Flipping over the ends and re-rolling produces a layered flaky biscuit - easy to spread jam on or eat without any toppings. I do not have a round cutter. So I cut these into squares or rectangles. The taste is the same and it cuts down on the preparation time. The recipe can be doubled or quadrupled without any changes (except sometimes adding a little more fluid) The recipe can be made with a combination of 1/3rd milk and 2/3rds cream. Just make sure you brush the biscuits with butter before cooking and the taste and texture is almost the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States