How to Make Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Chef John all I have to say is...Yummmmmmmmm. Though I'm out of bacon at the moment *cries* I put extra sausage crumbles in the gravy and man is it good. Tastes almost like how mom used to make gravy, I may end up using the gravy part of this recipe to make tuna gravy or even chip beef and gravy! *squees* :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GothicSpice86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
You had me @ "cook sausage and bacon in the hot butter" How about putting the cayenne in the gravy and maybe some paprika on top for garnish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newbroom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Thank you, this is wonderful. I have been using packets for years, not anymore. I used this as a base recipe for the gravy. Can't wait to make it the way it reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this for my biscuits, I made some changes though. I used Johnsonville Italian sausage (mild), seasoned with 1/2 tsp chilli powder. I left out the onion and cayenne pepper and bacon. My sons don't like onions. They said this was excelent and I agree.I have never made country gravy before. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was the first time I ever used Bacon in my Sausage Gravy and it was AWESOME!!!! I left out the onions drained the fat and added 3 extra tablespoons of Wanna Be Butter in it's place. I also omitted the Cayenne Pepper and added a healthy amount of Cajun Seasoning instead... The only word that comes to mind for this recipe is... "AWESOME"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This was excellent over Chef John's buttermilk biscuits! I already have plans to use this over chicken fried steak too! So delicious! Thanks for sharing Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I'm from Mississippi, and as we say here in the deep south "Honey hush! This is so good it will make you want to slap your grandma.;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
THIS is exactly what I was looking for! There is a dive bar down the road from my home that serves the BEST biscuits & gravy for $4.00 a plate & this comes close to that :) The only way it could be better is if I was having this made & served for me with a Bloody Mary to wash it down....yup, I'm from Wisconsin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States