How to Make Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I am gravy challenged and always have been and this turned out perfect for me. I used Johnsonville breakfast sausage and I wouldn't have it any other way. Hubs and I don't typically care for breakfast sausage due to the overwhelming flavor of sage but Johnsonville was the bomb hands down. This will be my go to white gravy. How can you go wrong with bacon after all???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I was on my own for dinner and since my husband won't eat biscuits and gravy I decided that was what was for dinner. I went on a search for a country gravy recipe and am so glad I found this. I didn't have green onion on hand so I just finely diced some regular onions and sautéed them right along with the meat. I had to use extra milk since it was kind of thick for me but that was an easy fix. I like my country gravy to take on a slightly deeper color so I added a few drops of browning sauce. I added the cayenne but next time I'll leave it out - not my thing. Sausage and bacon combined with the onion takes country gravy to a whole new level! Loved it! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was freaking awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Chef John all I have to say is...Yummmmmmmmm. Though I'm out of bacon at the moment *cries* I put extra sausage crumbles in the gravy and man is it good. Tastes almost like how mom used to make gravy, I may end up using the gravy part of this recipe to make tuna gravy or even chip beef and gravy! *squees* :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GothicSpice86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
You had me @ "cook sausage and bacon in the hot butter" How about putting the cayenne in the gravy and maybe some paprika on top for garnish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newbroom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Thank you, this is wonderful. I have been using packets for years, not anymore. I used this as a base recipe for the gravy. Can't wait to make it the way it reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this for my biscuits, I made some changes though. I used Johnsonville Italian sausage (mild), seasoned with 1/2 tsp chilli powder. I left out the onion and cayenne pepper and bacon. My sons don't like onions. They said this was excelent and I agree.I have never made country gravy before. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was the first time I ever used Bacon in my Sausage Gravy and it was AWESOME!!!! I left out the onions drained the fat and added 3 extra tablespoons of Wanna Be Butter in it's place. I also omitted the Cayenne Pepper and added a healthy amount of Cajun Seasoning instead... The only word that comes to mind for this recipe is... "AWESOME"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Burchette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This was excellent over Chef John's buttermilk biscuits! I already have plans to use this over chicken fried steak too! So delicious! Thanks for sharing Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I'm from Mississippi, and as we say here in the deep south "Honey hush! This is so good it will make you want to slap your grandma.;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States