Hotdish No One Likes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
A pretty basic casserole. I can see why it's called what it is called, because it's a tad too basic . . .there is absolutely no seasonings or spices in this thing to jazz it up. I knew just by looking at the recipe that I'd have to put more in it for it to work for us. It looked promising, though, so I thought I'd give it a shot. Recipe doesn't say, but I have to assume it wants you to cook up the meat and veggies first, then put it in the casserole, so that's what I did. I misread it though, and thought the potatoes were to go on top. About halfway through cooking the veggies on the stovetop, I realized my mistake and added half the potatoes. I decided to keep the rest for a topping. So after mixing up the meat and veggies, I put them in the casserole, topped with spaghetti sauce (what I had), topped with potatoes, then topped with garlic sea salt, paper, and more sauce. Then I baked for 75 minutes total, then turned off the oven and took off the cover to brown the potatoes. My other changes: added Italian seasoning, carmelized onions and garlic with the veggies and meat. It turned out pretty basic still, but made for a warm, hearty lunch on a cold winter day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very easy, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was good, however, I did add some sliced onion, a can of cream of mushroom soup, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I make this recipe all the time with a couple additions. I add an onion with the hamburger and 1 can of dark red kidney beans (drained). Also some salt and pepper. My girls lot it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Instead of Tomato soup I added a can of cream of potato and cream of chicken. Then put in the crockpot with potatos, green bean, corn, onions,ground beef, salt and pepper. On low all day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sime

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Nothing special but everyone in my family will eat it. I added onions and seasoned with a little garlic salt and some pepper. Also, I didn't have tomato soup so I just poured some tomato sauce on top. I told my 5 year old that this is just like the tin foil dinners we eat when we are camping. She gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I love the name of this dish....as I read the recipe I realized that this was what my mother served to her 11 kids! Only she called it "Shipwreck" and would throw in any leftover vegetables in the fridge....none of us liked it!! But when you cook for that many kids it pretty much has to be bland!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I found this to be rather bland. I kept trying to add salt and pepper to make it taste better, but to no avail. My five-year-old wouldn't eat it, even after I put cheese on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is no exciting gourmet recipe, but that's okay because it doesn't claim to be. Pretty much any spices or different vegetables could be added to liven it up, but then if that's what you're after, find a different recipe. If you want simple, hearty, easy, and cheap, try this one. The beauty of this recipe is its simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States