Hot Water Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I've struggled with homemade pie crusts for decades. Not any more. Why didn't someone tell me about this recipe before?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I've always been terrified to make pie crust! Over mixing yields a tough and unappealing crust. And then there's the rolling! That's why I buy pre-made. Until now! This is the easiest prep! Results are tender and flaky! And the extra bonus of how beautifully it rolls out between the waxed paper sheets! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
My initial impression during the making process: HOT MESS!!! My impression during the eating process: HOT LAVA!!! I halved this recipe for the "Sweet Potato Pie I" recipe. I, too, am pretty bad at the cold water method, though I have found success with the cold water and vodka style. However, with this pie I didn't really want to go through the angst of keeping my ingredients cold. Honestly, I found the process remarkably messy. Probably because I didn't chill it after mixing, my dough just didn't come together at all. I tried the usual plastic wrap ball then rolling it between wax paper and flipping it to the pie dish, but it was just a crumbly mess. I just dumped it all in the pie dish and pressed it out to the edges. I let it chill while I prepared the filling. Although I was concerned about wasting good sweet potato pie filling on a disaster crust, I was actually impressed with the outcome, though I do wish I added a bit of sugar. Very soft, crumbly, and flaky--cookie-like almost, not tough at all. If this recipe can go from a mess to amazing, I'm hard pressed to find a way to ruin this recipe. It's practically idiot proof!!! (Also, I didn't have vinegar so I just used triple distilled Smirnoff vodka No. 21. Didn't completely ruin the crust so I guess that's an okay substitution.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I used only 1 tsp salt, as I wanted it for a sweet pie, and it came out beautifully! Could have been done by a pro - which I definitely am not!! I used it to make the sour cherry pie from this website, to take to a function at church, and had to force myself to take it. I knew if I did not, though, I'd be eating it all myself! Even my husband remarked that it should be wonderful for a steak pie or any savoury pie, and this I will definitely be trying as well! Many thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Previously, I hated making pies due to the hard work and the poor results. However, this recipe is extremely easy. And it makes a tender and good-tasting crust--much better than I've ever gotten in the past with traditional recipes. Rolling it out between sheets of wax paper works perfectly. I've made six pies in the last two weeks, which is more pies than I've made in a decade, and it has been an enjoyable experience. The only con is that the recipe doesn't yield quite enough. I struggled to get it big/thin enough to create a nice rim for my crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I guess this has been on the site for awhile but would like to recommend it to everyone who has not tried it. EASY, tender, a gem to roll. I always prided myself on my pie crusts, but this will now replace the one I have made for 45 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Kar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
this is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattypickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I was very hesitant to try this crust because it uses hot water but I decided to take a chance because the reviews were so positive. I did make it in my food processor. Processed the wet ingredients till creamy, dumped the dry ingredients on top and pulsed about 5 times. I then wrapped and put it in the fridge while I prepared the apple pie filling. I was having a hard time rolling it and I ended up re-rolling it between plastic wrap. It was very easy this way but I was sure I had ruined it by handling it too much. I was shocked how tender and flaky it was when I had a slice later. The full recipe was enough for a ten inch deep dish and 1 regular single pie crust. I don't think I will ever make a cold water pie crust again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I'm a pie crust snob so I was hesitant to make this crust, but I was in a hurry and didn't have time to make my usual "Art of French Cooking" pie crust. I was swayed by the glowing reviews. I am not at all disappointed. I followed the recipe to a "t", but did not roll the dough between waxed paper. I rolled it on a well floured counter. This crust is easy to make, easy to rollout, and the results are a light flakey crust. What more could you possibly ask for! I still prefer the buttery flavor of a butter crust, but one reviewer said she made it with butter and it worked fine. If it does I just may say goodbye to Julia! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I've tried several pie crust recipes here and all have been good. But this one is really outstanding. It is very flaky as well as tasty. It also can handle a lot of abuse when making but still comes out perfect. I made it today for a Cherry/Blueberry pie from this site and it was super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States