Hot Water Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very simple and forgiving crust. It bakes up nice and flaky. It was a little bland tasting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
You can use this crust for any kind of pie. I made a vegetable pot-pie with it. Everyone was saying how delicious it was. They sent me home with it, and I ate the rest over the next days. It was delicious! The crust made it, though. Just crispy enough, just soft enough. I cooked it slowly on a low temperature (300F, I think). When the family was on their way, I turned it up to 400 until it started turning slightly tan, just to make sure it was done. Oh, make sure you poke holes in the crust on top. It needs to breathe, just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I have a terrible time with pie crusts! I just can never get them right! This one was perfect! I did end up having to add a little more water so it wasn't just a crumbly mess, but otherwise, as written, this is a GREAT pie crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
OK I hate to admit this but I never did try to make a pie crust! There its I can breath now :) I did use this recipe and all I can say is WOW! It is so so good,and easy! I love it. Thanks for placeing it online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
turned out great! Followed directions w/ the exception of using butter instead of shortening. will be using this recipe from now on, no more store bought crust for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tInA*671*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yona, Yona, Guam
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Super easy to make this pie crust. And, it turned out great. I have always shied away from making pies simply because I was unsure about the whole crust making step. This recipe has gotten me over this fear. Thank you for an easy to make, easy to handle pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
in general i like flaky crusts but after a run with failed crusts i decided to try something different. this one is nice and crunchy, not too hard to work with rolling beetween flour-dusted wax-paper and patching as needed during rolling. be sure to have softened butter as i forgot and used straight from the fridge then had to zap in the microwave to soften quickly....but a success nevertheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasvg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was the best pie crust I have ever made! Very easy to make and very flakey. I used this crust with a fresh pumpkin pie filling. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I've never seen a pie crust that uses hot water so I had to try it. I used this recipe for a home-made chicken pot-pie. The dough was very workable with my hands and easily pressed into my pie-plate but it requires A LOT of flour to roll as it's quite greasy! I think it's a great basic recipe that requires no chilling but I will probably add 1/2 C more flour to the recipe next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
very easy, came out very well...heavy shortening flavor, might cut some out next time...will use again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States