Hot Water Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I've been using this crust since I was a teenager (too many years ago to count at this point.) It's the most forgiving dough I've ever used and bakes up nice and flaky. So many crusts seem to mix well but not roll easily. This one rolls out perfectly. I use boiling water and roll it between sheets of waxed paper. I just tried making a quadruple batch of this crust using my KitchenAid mixer - figured it would either be great or a disaster. It was great. Very flaky and still easy to manange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This recipe was great. I just dumped all the ingredients into the food processor and presto, it was done. Instead of shortening I used butter. The pie crust tasted better than the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This is the only piecrust recipe I have ever tried that turns out perfect and flaky each and every time. During the holidays, I baked over 20 pies and everyone is now asking for this recipe! I really like the fact that it is so easy. I, too, roll in out between wax paper (no mess and so easy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Just a tip... My Mom always rolled out her pie crust (almost exactly this recipe) between two sheet of waxed paper. Just sprinkle a little water on a large breadboard and lay a sheet of waxed paper over it... the water keeps it from moving and buckling. Roll the dough into a ball and place in the middle of the sheet, placing another sheet on top. Flatten a little with your hand and then use your rolling pin to roll out to desired size. Peel off top sheet and lift lower sheet with dough and turn over onto pie plate, forming to fit. Peel off waxed paper... you may want to do this in sheets. Just don't use too much water when you sprinkle your board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I used this recipe when my husband called and wanted dinner for 5 in an hour, I folded it over some canned cherry pie filling and glazed it with 'vanilla glaze' located on this site also... 5 hungry soldiers said that these 'tarts' melted in their mouths!!! thanx for this awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was my first attempt at making my own crust. I had a little bit of troulbe with rolling it out, only because I think it should have chilled longer. But the taste was excellent! Added about 1 1/2 tsp of sugar, and used regular shortening. Only used one crust in a 9 in. pan, so I cut the remainder with a cookie cutter, sprinkled with cinnamon sugar mix, and baked for about 13 minutes. If the crust is your favorite part of the pie, this is awesome! Nice and flaky crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Ann: Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! I've been using my old recipe for pie crust for over 30 years now, but threw it away after trying this one! It's the best...flaky, yet a little crispy. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sparta, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This turned out flakey and light. It was the most successful pie I've made (my pie crust is usually pretty bad) I did find that it was pretty hard to work with, but my kitchen was very hot. Chilling for an hour before handling and rolling between wax paper helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very easy. I used the food processor too. I halved the recipe for one crust. It turned out very easy to roll out and stretch, and it was light and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
Very easy and flaky. I had to add a bit more milk to make it easier to work with but taste and texture and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States