Hot Water Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I had a real hard time working with the dough. I will try it again and try adding more milk this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I had never made a pie crust before trying this recipe. It was so simple and it turned out great! My family was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYD203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I would rate 3 1/2 stars if the options was there. This crust was easy to make but it was very difficult to work with even after I chilled it. As for the flavor..it is good but I have had better. It lacks a bit of flavor. I used all fresh ingredients but maybe if I had used butter it would have more flavor. It is flaky although not enough to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This turned out flakey and light. It was the most successful pie I've made (my pie crust is usually pretty bad) I did find that it was pretty hard to work with, but my kitchen was very hot. Chilling for an hour before handling and rolling between wax paper helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
tried using this for meatball pies and it did not taste very good. a little too floury for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Ann: Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! I've been using my old recipe for pie crust for over 30 years now, but threw it away after trying this one! It's the best...flaky, yet a little crispy. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sparta, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This recipe was great. I just dumped all the ingredients into the food processor and presto, it was done. Instead of shortening I used butter. The pie crust tasted better than the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
Very easy and flaky. I had to add a bit more milk to make it easier to work with but taste and texture and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This crust has an excellent flavor, but I found it a little difficult to work with. I haven't had much experience with making pies though, so that could have been the problem. I will definitely try this one again...my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This is the only piecrust recipe I have ever tried that turns out perfect and flaky each and every time. During the holidays, I baked over 20 pies and everyone is now asking for this recipe! I really like the fact that it is so easy. I, too, roll in out between wax paper (no mess and so easy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States