Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Awesome! This is exactly how my mother and my older sister made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is the same recipe my grandma used minus the sugar. Use stone ground white corn meal medium ground is my preference. Great with greens or split then stew on top. Same recipe but drop into boiling pot of greens for a few minutes makes great corn bread dumplings! Mm mmm I can see my grand ma making these as I write. Also goes with pulled pork spit and made as sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark E Dixon
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I have made this recipe four time and each time I have added different ingredients and changed methods or techniques. It is very versatile. Actually a awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark E Dixon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nyack, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is how I make my hot water corn bread,some times I dice up onion and green bell peppers and put into the water. My family loves this corn bread on the side with turnip greens, mustard greens and collard greens. It's even good with strawberry jam and preserves on top as a snack. I am an old Southern cook and this recipe is just like my grandma cooked. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Simple and easy. Perhaps not the most nutritious way to prepare cornbread, but everyone ( 4 to 82 years old) at the table devoured it. Brings back memories. Goes great with red beans and rice and sliced raw onion. Thank you for the "blast from the past" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
was easy and great tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBPerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Very simple and quick! I used organic coconut oil instead of shortening and also fried it in coconut oil. I used celtic sea salt instead of regular salt. Turned out delicious! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural Mystic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Dunlap-Oliver
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I like the recipe. It's quick and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Very delicious, but only use a sprinkling of salt to your taste. D. Chatman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Simply the best! I have never had a hot water cornbread recipe that I would use more than once. This recipe has become the one for me, finally. I made adjustments to suit my taste. Reduced hot water by 2 tablespoons, thus adding 2 tablespoons of coconut milk, used corn oil instead of shortening, also slightly increased corn meal. I am happy!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States