Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This recipe reminds me of the hot water cornbread my mom use to make when I was a little girl. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzyone711
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Awesome! This is exactly how my mother and my older sister made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is the same recipe my grandma used minus the sugar. Use stone ground white corn meal medium ground is my preference. Great with greens or split then stew on top. Same recipe but drop into boiling pot of greens for a few minutes makes great corn bread dumplings! Mm mmm I can see my grand ma making these as I write. Also goes with pulled pork spit and made as sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark E Dixon
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I have made this recipe four time and each time I have added different ingredients and changed methods or techniques. It is very versatile. Actually a awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark E Dixon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nyack, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is how I make my hot water corn bread,some times I dice up onion and green bell peppers and put into the water. My family loves this corn bread on the side with turnip greens, mustard greens and collard greens. It's even good with strawberry jam and preserves on top as a snack. I am an old Southern cook and this recipe is just like my grandma cooked. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Simple and easy. Perhaps not the most nutritious way to prepare cornbread, but everyone ( 4 to 82 years old) at the table devoured it. Brings back memories. Goes great with red beans and rice and sliced raw onion. Thank you for the "blast from the past" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
was easy and great tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBPerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Very simple and quick! I used organic coconut oil instead of shortening and also fried it in coconut oil. I used celtic sea salt instead of regular salt. Turned out delicious! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural Mystic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Dunlap-Oliver
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I like the recipe. It's quick and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Very delicious, but only use a sprinkling of salt to your taste. D. Chatman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States