Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Much too salty...I tried it again substituting salted butter for the shortening, and omitting the salt...much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye Whiddon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I didn't use cornbread mix. I used plain corn meal Cornbread mix has salt and flour in it. I also cut back on the water just a little and use milk. It helps it brown when not using sugar. I also add bacon grease to fry it in as it gives it the flavor I was used to growing up. My mother in law used to fry these in bacon grease only. She would butter them the minute they come out of the skillet and let the butter melt on the hot cornbread. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
it ain't my grandmothers but it's very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Love this recipe! Don"t add salt if using self_rising cornmeal thats why folks are saying its too salty I make tablespoon size patties and they fry up nice told my grandsons they were hotcakes and put syrup on them! they ate them up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I loved that I could serve my daughter with an egg allergy cornbread but it came out too crispy for our taste. Maybe I cooked it too long but otherwise not too bad with some pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made it exactly as the directions stated. Gritty & flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyMcSparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Our family loves Hot Water Corn Bread plain with soups instead of crackers. It's delicious. Never made it with sugar or ate them with syrup. We eat fried grits (what my mother called Fried Mush) with syrup so that would be about the same flavors. Very good. She put left over grits in a square tupperware container and refrigerated. When set she would slice them and fry in butter and drizzle syrup on them. Both being made from corn would have the same delicious flavors..will have to try sometime if we ever have any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
We loved the recipe. I added jalapenos and onions to the recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Loved the recipe !!! But I substitute the shortening for butter Didn't need all The oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States