Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Yummy! I am on a special diet (Daniel's fast) where I cannot eat many of the things you would normally put in breads so I was excited to find this recipe. I modified this to omit the sugar and shortening and cooked in olive oil. I dipped it in honey and it was very delicious - my whole family loved it! I agree with other reviewer that there is no difference with or without shortening so you might as well save the fat (I did try both ways). I also tried cooking the cornbread in 1/2" canola oil the first time and 1/8" olive the second time I made it and it tasted the same so again you can save calories. I will use this recipe over and over again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Growing up in East Texas, I was raised on this type of corn bread. The only changes that I have is add 1 cup of flour to the mix, and no sugar, but then again we eat them plain, no butter or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I wasn't a fan of these little cakes, but my husband and son really liked them. (I thought the cakes were somewhat bland.) My son is allergic to dairy and eggs, so this was a great recipe for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
i love hot water cornbread i didn't use the shorting i used butter real butter i was so.... good hot or cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaTasha Booker
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This recipe was extremely easy, however my family and I felt the amount of salt overwhelmed us. Also, it only made about 6-3 inch cakes instead of 12-1 inch cakes. Cut the salt, to 1/2 to 3/4 tsp, and possibly add some minced onion for flavor. Also double the recipe if you are cooking for more than two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASFRECKLES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
just what i was looking for,thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Very good recipe. It does not yield 12 cakes, more like 6 but then again I guess it depends on the size you make the. My husband said they were salty, they taste fine to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I got the recipe. I have been looking for a long time for one that tasted like the one my grandmother fixed. It was GREAT!. After we had eaten I happened to look at the cornmeal I was using and it was Aunt Jemima self-rising yellow corn meal mix! I know that is not was what was called for but it was so good I will always fix it that way. Thanks for bringing back wonderful memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
we think this is FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
this is not as easy as it sounds but it is totally worth the effort. I must perfect this recipe some patties were done some not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States